Harvest Monday

Daphne had the brilliant idea of sharing what we are eating from our pantry as a way of extending the harvest season and her Monday harvest tally.  Brilliant, I say!  We do a lot of canning and freezing, thus really do eat from the garden and locally all season long.  I’ll start taking photos for this purpose, but as I don’t have specific photos today, I’ll use some old ones.  And no, I didn’t actually can Ocho, although I have thought about processing her in some way, usually following a particularly egregious transgression.

This past week, from the freezer, I used blueberries and strawberries to make fruit smoothies for breakfast.  These fruits came from within our local foodshed, although we did not grow them ourselves (well, some blueberries, but not wnough for smoothies).  And of course, when we don’t have smoothies for breakfast, we enjoy the fantastic eggs our hens provide for us.

I made pizza with the second-to-last jar of roasted tomato sauce from 2007 which I have been hoarding for this purpose.  I made a stir fry and used some frozen Swiss chard to add to the local cabbage and onions procured from the farmer’s market.  Earlier in the week I made beef vegetable soup with some local beef and veggies from the farmers market.

I’ve been gifting friends and family in recognition of the holidays with jams and butters produced from apples grown by a work colleague at her orchard.  I’ve also got some delicious apple sauce tucked away, and you can bet I’ll be serving some of that with a delicious pork roast for Christmas from our pig raised by Dan’s colleague Nina at Ruit Farm North.  Nina also raises some of the most delicious chicken I have ever tasted, and makes mouthwatering goat cheese, too.  YUM.  Earlier in the week we enjoyed a fantastic ham steak with bourbon cream sauce I read about in a hilarious post from one of my favorite food bloggers Tammy at Food on the Food.

It was so long ago, I can’t remember all the delicious treats we dined upon last week, but you can bet we enjoyed every morsel, and will continue to do so until (sob) the freezers are empty.  Let’s hope I’ll be harvesting overwintered spinach and leeks by then!

3 Responses to “Harvest Monday”

  1. jeannie Says:

    Ali, sounds all to good. When I did can…I would do the same thing. except, I never had a hoop house and I had to leave it to mother nature. And the best part is sharing with others.
    And also Happy Soltis Day!

  2. Tammy Says:

    Wooooooooow, Look at those jars of tomato sauce. I’m jealous. So glad you enjoyed the ham steak with bourbon sauce. Happy Holidays!

  3. Daphne Says:

    You still have cans from 2007? I was using up the 2008s frozen tomato sauce this fall. I had reorganized (yes earlier) part of my freezer and found a stash I missed. Things can get lost in a chest freezer.

    I’ve been eating zucchini bread and eggs for breakfast. Sadly not my own eggs. I envy yours.

Comments are closed.


