A merry Yule to you

Dan and I have enjoyed a lovely day here at Henbogle. We started the day with a yummy breakfast of eggs baked in cream with leeks and butter, a dish I read about on (not so) Urban Hennery and immediately decided it would be our Christmas breakfast. You just know if it is a recipe I find on one of the blogs I read, it has got to be good.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, other than subbing my own dried herbs, and using a skibble of medium cream rather than half and half, as I had it on hand and it needed using.  The leeks pried with difficulty from the ground (frozen after a lengthy cold snap [can it be a snap if it lasts longer than 2 weeks?]) were AMAZING, like candy almost.  We paired the eggs with some local pork breakfast sausage for a hearty breakfast (brunch, really) to last the day.  Why the day, you ask?

Later this evening, we will travel to the home of friends Bill & Michelle for dinner with contributions from all.   It should be delicious, knowing the crowd I hang out with, and very festive.  My contribution?  Roasted Beets and Spinach Salad, loosely based on the Epicurious recipe, and Buttered Rum Pound Cake (a favorite of Dan’s) with Bananas Foster Sauce.  Check out the recipe on my recipe repository, Yankee Pantry.  And a merry Christmas to one an all!

8 Responses to “A merry Yule to you”

  1. jeannie Says:

    Ali & Dan
    Merry Christmas!! Breakfast looks great! I made made French toast but with a twist. I made cream cheese and jelly sandwichs, dipped them in egg, then cooked as normal. It’s really good honest espeacilly when the milk used is egg nogg. Then with the left over egged egg nogg, I made an omlete with some shredded chedder cheese. Then Out for dinner at a local resterante.
    Love you, merry Christmas

  2. Kim Says:

    Merry Christmas!

  3. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    I recently made some cream-baked eggs. Not with leeks, and not for Christmas, but with some of the garlic scape pesto I made and froze over the summer. We’re garlic fiends in this house!

    Merry Yule to you too, Ali

  4. Daphne Says:

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

  5. Giddy Says:

    Merry Christmas to you and Dan! I look forward to your 2010 posts.

  6. mangochild Says:

    Hope your Christmas was happy and warm. I too like finding and trying recipes I see posted by my fellow bloggers – creative and delicious.

  7. Hadas Says:

    Hi,
    trying to keep my “Maine state of Mind” here in a winter that looks like summer, I will try to cook this breakfast, will let you know how it went… meanwhile, I read, look at the picture and use my imagination. almost time for a happy new year…
    Hadas

    • Ali Says:

      Hadas, We miss you, I hope Sani and kids are taking excellent care of you! Let me know how the recipe turns out!

Comments are closed.


