A panoply of purple vegetables

As my faithful readers may recall, I have a fascination with purple vegetables. Pictured is a Graffitti cauliflower before and after cooking.  It was sightly slug damaged, but I ate it anyway, I wasn’t about to let the damn slugs win.

Today, while the weather gods dumped 3/4″ of rain on us, I  amused myself by looking through my seed catalogs, working on my seed order, and searching for purple vegetables to grace the Henbogle table.

Here’s what I found:

Purple Beauty bell pepper

Marconi Purple bell pepper

Hon Tsai Tai broccoli

Early Sprouting Purple broccoli

Purple Peacock broccoli

Red Rubine Brussels sprouts

Purple Queen bush bean

Royal Burgundy bush bean

January King cabbage

Purple Rain carrot

Cosmic Purple carrot

Purple dragon carrot

Purple Dragon carrot

Deep purple carrots

Black Knight carrots

Violet Queen cauliflower

Graffiti cauliflower

Purple Cape cauliflower

de Sicillia cauliflower

Purple Cauliflower cauliflower

Black Hungarian/Czech chile pepper

Cracoviensis lettuce

Purple Orach orach

Violetto pac choi

Blue Coco pole bean

Violet Podded pole bean

Trionfo Violetto pole bean

Plum Purple radish

I would love to hear of your experience growing these varieties if you would be so kind as to comment.  Thanks!

4 Responses to “A panoply of purple vegetables”

  1. jeannie Says:

    Ali,
    I can’t say as I’ve ever heard of them, But I’m sure they’ll look good and taste delish

  2. vrtlaricaana Says:

    I have never seen a purple cauliflower and its amazing that it keeps the color after cooking!
    I don’t have any experience with any of these purple veggies, but they do sound interesting.

  3. mangochild Says:

    I too love purple veg. I’ve grown purple carrots this past year, and I didn’t find anything different about them (other than the taste). I know of a few people who have grown purple cauliflower (very pretty on my table) and picked lots of purple beans from a local farm this past summer. I asked the farmer about them, and she said they actually grow faster and more bushy than the green or yellow kind. Interesting.

  4. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Can’t help you with these varieties, Ali. But I did think of you when I came across the Purple Milpa tomatillo in one of the seed catalogs last night. (Had to be either SSE or Territorial.) Have you considered those? My Cherokee Trail of Tears shell beans usually have purple pods that dry down to nearly black. And the beans as they develop are purple, but likewise black when ready for harvest as soup beans. Maybe they’d make decent fresh beans if you harvest them at that stage?

Comments are closed.


