Ruth Stout

Dan introduced me to Ruth Stout and the idea of sheet composting/mulching when we first moved to Henbogle.  Ruth wrote about gardening in at least 2 books, Gardening Without Work, and How to Have  A Green Thumb Without An Aching Back.  She was full of common sense gardening advice, which naturally resonated with me.  In the second video clip she mentions smashing a liquor joint window with Carrie Nation at age sixteen!  SHe was quite a woman.

Margaret at A Way to Garden found some wonderful video footage of Ruth and posted it; I highly recommend a visit to check it out.  What a treat!

8 Responses to “Ruth Stout”

  1. vrtlaricaana Says:

    I have just read Ruth Stouts “No Work Garden Book” and just love it!

  2. jeannie Says:

    I remember reading Ruth!

  3. SugarCampNY Says:

    Ali,
    I discovered Ruth when I was gardening in Brewster. I’m surprised Jean remembers her book. I think at that time Ruth was still alive and living in neighboring Connecticut.

  4. SugarCampNY Says:

    Ali,
    I love all the comments on Ruth at that web site you recommended. I pulled out my copies of NoWork Garden Book and How to Have a Green Thumb Without an Aching Back. Inside were three newspaper articles about Ruth that were published in the Danbury News Times in 1974 and 76with lots of photos.

  5. Margaret Roach Says:

    Thanks, Ali, for the nice mention, and so glad you enjoyed the videos as I did. Happy New Year!

  6. Kim Says:

    THANK YOU THANK YOU! I have a book of Ruth’s and so enjoyed seeing her and her garden in person. What a character!

    Also, I’d lost my link to A Way to Garden and was doubly blessed to re-discover it via your link.

    Happy Day for Me!

    Kim

Comments are closed.


