Freezer harvest Monday

From the outdoor freezer (aka the garden) a leek; from the indoor freezer, shredded summer squash, green beans, corn, string beans, and Swiss chard.  All this deliciousness went into a large pot of soup featuring chicken from our friend Nina at Ruit Farm North, my freezer veggies, some local carrots and potatoes, and some organic celery from who knows where.

It simmered for a bit, then was paired with some delicious black pepper parmesan bread for a dinner designed to make me forget the rainy weather.  Mostly.

On Christmas Day, I used a leek and some of the girls’ delicious eggs to make a fabulous egg dish.  Leeks rock.  I forsee more leeks ahead in a quiche, perhaps.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series, featuring harvests from our gardens all year round.

10 Responses to “Freezer harvest Monday”

  1. Daphne Says:

    Your soup looks delicious. I am so into soups this time of year. Tomorrow I’m using the last of the leftover Christmas ham (with the ham bone) to make some bean soup. It will probably have a bit of garden produce, like onions and garlic, but mostly it will be beans (local ones, but not mine) and ham.

  2. Michelle Says:

    lol, the outdoor freezer. You do have to have a sense of humor at this time of year. The soup sounds so good, I love soup at this time of year.

  3. jeannie Says:

    Ali’
    You would put all the cooks on television to shame with the way you present you’re meal and your home. Christmas was good to us this year,and I hope you and Dan have a bountiful year this year. May God shine lovingly on your garden. Thats my new years wish for you and Dan. So, Have a Very Happy New Year!!!!

  4. chook Says:

    i’m kinda coveting your fiestaware…is that wrong? happy new year!

  5. Thomas Says:

    That leek is HUGE! I can’t wait to grow some next year. That’s a fabulous looking spread too. Nothing like a hot bowl of soup on a cold day.

  6. Nina Says:

    I am so glad that you are enjoying our chickens, Ali. The soup looks delicious! I think I may have to be making a big pot of something today…

Comments are closed.


