2010 Seed Order

My 2010 seed order, submitted to Fedco and Pine Tree Garden Seeds tonight (I think this is the earliest I’ve EVER gotten a seed order in).

Variety Vegetable
Indy Gold Bush Wax Bean Bean
Purple Trionfo Violetto Bean Pole Bean
Royal Burgundy Bean Bean
3 Root Grex Beet Beet
Early Purple Sprouting Broccoli Broccoli
Jade Cross Brussels Sprouts Brussels Sprouts
Melissa Savoy Cabbage Cabbage
Gonzales Mini Cabbage Cabbage
Purple Haze Carrot Carrot
Red Cored Chantenay Carrot Carrot
Graffiti Cauliflower Cauliflower
Violet Queen Cauliflower Cauliflower
Cassius Cauliflower Cauliflower
Redventure Celery Celery
Argentata Chard Chard
Bright Lights Chard Chard
Wrinkled Crinkled Crumpled Cress Cress
Marketmore 76 Slicing Cucumber Cucumber
Très Fine Maraîchère Olesh Endive Endive
Broad-Leaved Batavian Endive Endive
Kniolas Purple Morning Glory Flower
Selma Suns Mix Sunflower Flower
Sunflower Sample Flower
Benarys Giants Mix Zinnia Flower
Cactus Bright Jewel Mix Zinnia Flower
State Fair Mix Zinnia Flower
Blue Flax Flower
Sweet Basil Herb
Cilantro Herb
Lemon Balm Herb
Sweet Woodruff Herb
Sorrel Herb
Beedys Camden Kale Kale
Kale Mix Kale
Nero Di Toscona Kale Kale
Bleu de Solaize Leek Leek
Cracoviensis Lettuce Lettuce
Red Sails Lettuce Lettuce
Lingua di Canarino (Canary Tongue) Lettuce
Red Deers Tongue Lettuce Lettuce
Green Deers Tongue Lettuce Lettuce
Bughatti Lettuce Lettuce
Tom Thumb Lettuce Lettuce
Black Seeded Simpson Lettuce Lettuce
Bronze Mignonette Lettuce
Winter Density Lettuce Lettuce
All Year Round Lettuce Lettuce
Red Sails Lettuce Lettuce
Matina Sweet Lettuce Lettuce
Buttercrunch Lettuce Lettuce
Verte de Cambrai Mache Mache
Mache Mache
Minutina Minutina
Expression Onion Onion
Rossa Lunga di Tropea Onion Onion
Bunching Crimson Forest Onion
Aurora Orach Mix Orach
Shuko Pac Choi Pac Choi
Purple Pac Choi Pac Choi
Prezzemolo Gigante D Italia Parsley Parsley
Harris Model Parsnip Parsnip
Cascadia Snap Pea Pea
Multicolored Pole Bean Mix Pole Bean
Scarlet Runner Bean Pole Bean
Winter Luxury Pumpkin Pumpkin
Indigo Radicchio Radicchio
Olympia Spinach Spinach
Scarlet  Spinach Spinach
Cherokee Purple Tomato Tomato
Heinz 2653 Paste Tomato Tomato
Opalka Paste Tomato Tomato
Yellow Currant Tomato Tomato
Sungold Tomato Tomato
Hon Tsai Tai (Chinese broccoli) Tsai Tai
Gold Ball Turnip Turnip
Costata Romanesca Zucchini Zucchini

Note an increased selection of Asian greens and season extending veggies.  I’m also planning on planting a large row of kale and greens for the hens.  No doubt I’ve overlooked something, but I’m close enough to Johnny’s that I can visit the storefront over lunch to pick up anything else I need.

10 Responses to “2010 Seed Order”

  1. nancybond Says:

    It certainly looks like a well thought out selection — it won’t be long before we’ll be labouring over all those little seedlings again. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself. :)

  2. Anonymous Says:

    great list! I’ve already got my seeds, and now realize I forgot some. I don’t know sweet woodruff?

    • Ali Says:

      Sweet woodruff is a sweetly-scented flowering groundcover for shady areas. I’ve got some growing in the front bed, under the big spruce, and thought I’d add some more in the fern border under the flowering crab.

  3. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Dang, you’re early, Ali! Impressive list.

    This makes me totally jealous, by the way: “I’m close enough to Johnny’s that I can visit the storefront over lunch…”

    I still haven’t even gotten my Johnny’s catalog. I’m getting concerned enough that I may have to call them if it isn’t here tomorrow…

  4. Ali Says:

    Hee hee… the Johnny’s people are great, so helpful, and I love that they are employee-owned. Someday I will have to visit Johnny’s farm for a tour and post about it on the blog.

  5. Robin Says:

    I love your profile pic! I’m working on my list and going to study your list while I’m looking for replacements. I haven’t been to Johnny’s yet but plan to…some day.

    Kate, I know a lot of people haven’t received their Johnny’s catalog yet. I don’t remember it being this late last year.

    • Ali Says:

      I haven’t received a Johnny’s catalog in the mail yet, but did my shopping on line. I’m trying lots of new Asian greens and lettuces, trialing them for season extension and deliciousness. It would be great to eat home grown salad all winter…. or even for most of the winter!

  6. julie Says:

    WOW, I am impressed, are you on the ball or what! I need to have a discussion with my “girls” to see what would soothe their palate. Need to keep our feathered friends happy.

    • Ali Says:

      I’ll keep you posted on the row of mixed Kale I’m planning on growing for the girls. They do seem to relish the greens I give them at this time of year. The other day the were very happy to see cabbage, kale and some parsley.

  7. Diana Smth Says:

    Already bought and received all my seeds that I need…the wants are an entirely different list!!! Those glorious catalogs are so enticing. We will probably make a trip over to Baker Creek this month,too, so working on a list for there. It is a great place to visit. Excited about their spring festival since I just retired and now all my weekends are mine to enjoy and since they are only 50 miles away we can be home in time to milk the cow….DEE

Comments are closed.


