Harvest Monday

Before the big storm hit, I was able to harvest more kale from the main garden, and a lone leek.  I’ll use the kale in some soup this week, and I used the leek on Saturday on homemade pizza.

It amazes me that the kale continues to grow, even thrive, in the cold temps.  I had picked these plants pretty hard earlier in the fall, and left them, hoping that in the spring they would begin to regrow.  Instead, the plants have been growing slowly all along.

I really have not been paying attention, but noticed when I went to pick some cabbage for the hens that the kale was looking very leafy.  I picked a gallon bag full of gorgeous kale.  No slug or cabbage worm damage on this kale!  I bet is will be delicious in some white bean and sausage soup….

As of tonight, we’ve received over a foot of snow from the 3-day storm that began on Friday.  The majority of the snow was light, fluffy little flakes, but today the temperatures climbed and the snow got very wet and sticky very quickly.  Fortunately, we finished shoveling and roof-raking before the drizzle began, yuk.  Temperatures on Monday are supposed to be quite mild, in the mid 30s, with snow showers possible.

Maybe the kale will grow a bit faster in the mild weather?

This is posted as part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.  Check out what she and other hardy gardener’s are harvesting at her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.

6 Responses to “Harvest Monday”

  1. Daphne Says:

    Maybe I should go dig out my kale this week and see how it is doing. I’m thinking of just waiting for the next thaw, but I’m just not sure. It is amazing that your kale is still growing.

  2. Michelle Says:

    The kale must be super tasty from all the cold it has endured!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    That is exciting news! I’m in NW Vermont. We didn’t plant kale last year but we will this year.
    Question: Will you go out and brush the snow off your kale patch?

  4. Diana Smth Says:

    This is the first year I made an effort to plant a fall garden and WOW, it’s turned out great. We love kale plus had swiss chard,late beets, b.sprouts. The best part is NO bugs! I used to pull my kale for the chicken but searched for kale recipes and now the chickens are loosing out! We are in so. MO but don’t let that fool ‘ya…expecting -20 degree weather this weekend. Next year I’m gonna try planting some crops in my greenhouse to overwinter and see how they do. We don’t generally start using it until lst of April to save on the electric heater costs. DEE

  5. jeannie Says:

    It is true, One bad thing can eventually give you something good back. Even though you had not such a good year for the garden, Mother nature helped you in another way. Glad to hear you had some more harvesting to do.

  6. mangochild Says:

    Kale truly is amazing. I was thinking about that last week when having fresh kale with dinner. I didn’t grow it myself, but a local farmer I know did, and that even with the snow. Seeing how the cold makes greens like kale even sweeter gives me some appreciation for the effect of the weather, even though I hate the cold! Glad to read that you are still harvesting.

Comments are closed.


