Harvest Monday

Remember that kale? Well, it joined one of my leeks and some of my home canned veggie soup to become a delicious pot of soup last week.  A leek, a small onion, peppers red and green, garlic, celery, carrots, green beans from the freezer, canned organic tomatoes, and cannelini beans, supplemented with the veggie soup. 

I was glad to have the soup on hand, as I had mislabed a jar of chili powder as paprika, and an extra jar of the veggie soup served to reduce the heat level from flaming death to merely hair-raising.  Spicy, but delicious!

Join me and other hardy gardeners at Daphne’s Dandelions for Harvest Monday.  Check out who is still eating from the garden, and how.

4 Responses to “Harvest Monday”

  1. julie Says:

    A delicious meal for such a cold winters day. Enjoy!

  2. Daphne Says:

    The veggie soup sounds delicious. I think I’m eating leftovers one more day, but then I ought to make some more soup.

  3. Michelle Says:

    That should really warm you up! I’ve finally learned to label things, most of the time, my memory is mush these days.

  4. mangochild Says:

    It really does sound good. What tripped me up a couple of times was the difference in spices from batch to batch. I was visiting family and added in my usual amount of chili powder to a dish, only to find that their batch of the powder had apparantly been made with a hotter batch of chilis than the powder I had at home! There were certainly some flaming mouths at that meal! And of course, a couple of months later, in an abundence of caution, I scaled back on the chili powder when visitng, only to find that they had since used up and restocked with more chili powder – this time much milder, even though it was from the same grower. Ahhhh!

Comments are closed.


