Seed starting calendar

Now that my seeds are coming in, I’ve been working on my seed starting calendar.  Last year, I started many plants too early, thinking I’d put them in the hoop house.  Well, there’s only so much room in there….  I put my calender in iCal and then synced it with my iPod so I can check it daily to feed my obsession.  And make sure I don’t start more plants than will fit in the hoophouse.

Some very useful tools for this exercise can be found online. First off, help in narrowing down your seed list can be found at the Vegetable Varieties for Gardeners site created by the Cornell University Horticulture Department.  Obviously, judging from my list, I should have spent more time there….

Ed Hume Seeds has a nice chart telling you how much you need to plant/grow to feed a family of four.  Now that I have 2 freezers, I am hoping that I’ll come closer to filling them with my own veggies, so I’m looking closely at this chart for guidance.

The Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association (MOFGA) has a seed starting chart which includes succession planting times.   Skippy’s Vegetable Garden has an online tool which will create a calendar based on your frost dates for both spring and fall seed starting & planting.

All of these links and more useful sites can be found on my Resources for Maine Gardeners Page.

5 Responses to “Seed starting calendar”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Thanks for the great links! Of course the Maine seed starting chart doesn’t help me out much in the Western Carolinas, but I’ve got a good book for that. Still, it’s fun to explore the MOFGA website.

  2. Daphne Says:

    I’ve got to start my seed calendar too. I make it in excel and then print it out and put it in my laundry room (where I start my seeds).

  3. Teresa Noelle Roberts Says:

    10-15 tomatoes for a family of four? Either they’re not banking on preservation or their hypothetical family doesn’t eat tomatoes the way the Cat-Herder and I do!

  4. GrafixMuse Says:

    Thanks for the links! I know I will use seed starting calendar at MOFGA this weekend when I develop my own seed starting calendar.

  5. mangochild Says:

    Great links, thank you! I’m starting to plan things out too, and need lots of help. I think I started a bit too late last year – or maybe the weather was wonky. At any rate, this’ll be helpful :-)

Comments are closed.


