Stir crazy project

With seed catalogs surrounding me, and the seed orders coming in, I needed a project to distract me from gardening, or rather not gardening, for a bit.  Enter the new/old stereo cabinet.

Dan and I found this cabinet at a local used furniture store.  Beautiful, it is not.  But, it had a nice combination of cupboard and drawers, is the right size for our space, and we can make it beautiful.  First, I took off the interior drawer slides/hardware, and we removed some of the interior drawers to make room for shelves. We’ll leave one for storage.

As we did with the bookcases we re-made this past summer, we decided to build up the top and add some decorative molding.  A glued up piece of lumber proved just the ticket, seeing as this will be painted, and some fancy molding.  Today, Dan and I cut the top to size, measured twice and cut the molding once, then glued it and tacked it on with our pneumatic brad nailer (that thing rocks).  Once it dries, I use screws to attach it to the top of the cabinet.

I think I’d like to make some beadboard doors to replace the cheap panel doors.  I don’t like the little gap between the top of the doors and the molding.  My feeling is that beadboard will look more authentic, disguising the el-cheapo heritage of this cabinet.  What do you all think?

One I get the doors made, I need to make shelves for the stereo and iPod dock/player, and attach a power strip in there somewhere.  Then  sand, add wood putty where needed, sand again, and paint.   Finally, make some more beach stone doorknobs and drawer pulls.  Think this will keep me busy until spring?

Our living room is a pine green with honey pine wainscoting.  What color should we paint the cabinet?  Teal?

Or red?  Some other color?

And what color for the interior?   All suggestions are welcome!

PS  Sorry the text gets lost in the photos.  I tried to fix this problem Sunday morning, but gave up when I realized that it was not working, and that if I was going to keep screwing around with WordPress to try and fix it, I needed a vodka martini, shaken, extra olive.

Did I mention it was Sunday morning!?

8 Responses to “Stir crazy project”

  1. Linda Says:

    I’m with you- I think beadboard will look better than the panel doors. And I always go for red when I have the choice! Nice project.

  2. SugarCampNY Says:

    I vote for teal. Glad you finally found the right cabinet that will work for you. Louise and lee were here yesterday. In the spring they are going to take my dog house bird feeder. It just needs a new roof and Lee has some shingles. That’s an example of reuse if there ever was one.

  3. Leigh Says:

    Ordinarily I would vote for teal but after looking at the photos of your bookshelves, I have to say that i really like that red!

    I’ve been looking back through your chicken posts. Very interesting and very helpful to me as I get ready to embark on my own chicken venture. I was also amazed at how much snow you had a year ago!

  4. Kim Says:

    Hmm. I’d vote barn red on the color– dark, not bright, red.

    And beadboard’s most often on the interior of vintage cabinets; not so often on the exterior. If I were you, I’d paint it and put the knobs on, see if you like the look or can add trim to fix it, and only build the beadboard doors as a last result. (My opinion, for what it’s worth– which is probably not much!)

    Enjoy your posts! I’m down in the Ozark Mountains of northern Arkansas, and was originally drawn here by your awesome hoop house posts. Have stuck around to keep reading a kindred spirit’s adventures! Thanks for writing.

  5. jeannie Says:

    I like the idea of red! Red has always been one of my more favorite colors.(wore red shoes till third grade!) But I mght want to put a bit of plum (dark plum) with it to give it a deep texture in a different hue. Some places will mix a sample for you to see if it is what you want. good luck with the cabinet. I love a good project like that.

  6. mothernaturesgarden Says:

    Wow! I can see you are keeping busy. I was surfing similar casegoods looking for the perfect thing to store my favorite books.

  7. Hadas Says:

    I vote for red. Joe sent me the photos of your home so I checked there, and it seems red is better contrast and adds warmth. show it when you are done…

  8. Ali Says:

    Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I’m leaning toward red, although maybe a coral-pumpkin shade would be good….

Comments are closed.


