Happy Groundhog Day!

Hooray, it’s Groundhog Day!  As I have written before, Groundhog Day is one of my favorite holidays (perhaps related to it close proximity to my birthday), Groundhog Day is a very welcome harbinger of spring.  Once G-Day rolls around, I know seed starting is not far behind, and before you can say whistle pig, I’ll be eating spinach from the hoophouse (I hope).

To help celebrate this festive day, Mother Earth News has come through with a helpful article about hunting the wily rodent, and how to cook it if you are so lucky as to get one.   Ya just gotta love the Mother.  Or not.

3 Responses to “Happy Groundhog Day!”

  1. mangochild Says:

    I totally forgot about Groundhog’s Day! Happy “hint of spring” to you :-)

  2. Jean Says:

    Ali, I have to admit that, growing up in New England, Groundhog Day never made any sense to me. Under one condition (I can never remember which), spring will come early. Under the other condition, winter will last 6 more weeks (until mid-March, which you have to admit would be a damn early spring around here!) So either spring will come early or spring will come early, so what difference does it make if the groundhog sees his shadow! Then I moved to southern Pennsylvania, where Goundhog Day is an unbelievably big deal — and where spring bulbs sometimes start to bloom in February. In that climate, the two alternatives suddenly made some sense.

  3. Callie Says:

    People don’t pay much attention to Groundhog Day out here. Maybe it is an East coast thing? Thoughts of Spring are Welcome!

Comments are closed.


