A mighty wind (& rain)

We had a big blow last night here at Henbogle, with strong gusty winds and rainrainrain.  Gusts were 50 mph, with at least one gust recorded at over 60 mph.  At the Isle of Shoals buoy off the coast of the NH/ME border recorded gusts of 90 mph.  Yikes.  Parts of Cumberland and York counties recorded over 6 inches of rain — I suspect here we got over 4″, but don’t know for sure.

Sleeping was a challenge, with the wind rattling the windows and shaking the house.  I was very concerned that the hoop house would be over in my neighbor’s yard this morning, or the plastic off  the whole structure.  Fortunately, my fears went unrealized, and it’s in one piece, in its desired location.  Our beloved maple tree survived intact, too, with just a few small branches/twigs littering the lawn.  I’m sure cable-ing it a few years ago helped tremendously.

All over the midcoast area power lines are down and roads flooded.  Dan has no school today as a result of flooded roads, downed power lines and trees.  My carpool partner just called to say she is detouring around downed lines and will be late picking me up.  We are lucky to have power as our sump pump is humming away at the water in the basement.  Its a good thing we replaced it a few years ago.

Below are some photos of the Henbogle backyard this morning.  Click to enlarge.

8 Responses to “A mighty wind (& rain)”

  1. nruit Says:

    Your yard looks a lot like our property. THe sheep weren’t happy this morning! Lost our milking greenhouse again, but at least the sheep and goats continue to have shelter. We lost our power last night at 10 and got it back about 4 or 5 this afternoon. Love that generator!

  2. Robin Says:

    Yuck, that looks like one soupy mess. I hate walking through mud. You might try http://www.wunderground.com/ to find the exact stats on your weather. It has all the little personal weather stations (10,000) reporting to it and can find past weather history for every day. We have a station that is less then a mile away that I always get my exact stats from. Which I then go tell Lee how cold it is/how much it rained/or how windy it is to make him groan. :)

  3. Hadas Says:

    well we had a rain storm here as well, lots of thunder and lightning. but our termpratures are still very reasonable and nice in Maine terms, 16 celcius

  4. Daphne Says:

    I had to put my earplugs in to sleep. It was just so noisy. Luckily we only lost power for about 10 minutes. Though we didn’t get much water in the basement. It is the joy of living on a hill. The water doesn’t collect as easily.

  5. Biz Says:

    You have no idea how excited I am that I stumbled on to a well-established blog about gardening in MAINE. This year we’re really getting into using our acres, so I’m enjoying reading your past experiences right now. :D

  6. Callie Says:

    So glad to hear that you survived the storm without major damage. Windy storms are so scary! I always worry the roof is going to come off or a tree is going to land on the house.

  7. jeannie Says:

    I’m glad to hear about the minimal damage to Henbogle. We’ve been getting some bad rains down here in Florida too, along with some unseasonably cold weather.

  8. GrafixMuse Says:

    Wow that WAS some crazy weather, wasn’t it? We escaped with minimal damage too. There was some minor flooding in the basement as our secondary pump failed. But it’s all cleaned up and dry now. We didn’t even lose power. We were counting our blessings.

Comments are closed.


