Harvest Monday

Luscious leeks are allowing me to post to Daphne’s Harvest Monday series this week.  My leeks have held up pretty well over the winter, and are downright delicious.  The look pretty awful in this photo, but they clean up pretty good, as you can see below. I sliced them up and added them to some delicious sweet Italian sausage from the pork we purchased from our friend Nina, and added some of my home canned vegetable soup base, and some cannellini beans for a delicious pot of soup, yum.

And finally, thanks to the inspiration from a comment left in my earlier birthday nod to my beloved state, Maine Blueberry Cake using some of those blueberries I froze this past summer.  Give this delicious cake a try, but remember, you have to use Maine Wild Blueberries or it just won’t work.  YUM!

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Maine Blueberry Cake from Marjorie Standish’s classic Cooking Down East, with one change– Kate’s Homemade Butter rather than Crisco.

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 c butter
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/3 c milk
  • 1 1/2 c Maine wild blueberries*

Beat eggs white until stiff.  Add about 1/4 c of the sugar to keep them stiff.

Cream butter, add salt and vanilla to this.  Add remaining sugar gradually.  Add unbeaten eggs yolks and beat until light and creamy.  Dust the blueberries with about 1 T of the flour.  Stir together dry ingredients together and add alternately with the milk.  Fold in the beaten whites, then gently fold in the blueberries.

Turn into a greased 8″x8″ pan.  Sprinkle the top of the batter lightly with granulated sugar.  Bake at 350°F for 50-60 minutes.

*Fresh is best, but frozen will work.  Add them as frozen berries however, and prepare for a slightly longer cooking time.  In theory, this cake serves eight.  Huh.

3 Responses to “Harvest Monday”

  1. Nancy Bond Says:

    Your blueberry cake recipe sounds wonderful! And I’m so jealous you’ve got leeks this time of year.

  2. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    Mmm blueberries. I can’t overwinter leeks as leek moth has discovered our yard so I can’t grow them out in the open. Next year, I’ll try row cover as I love leeks!

  3. Daphne Says:

    That soup sounds good. Especially if you had it over the weekend. I don’t know if Maine got the same storm we did, but we had over 9″ of rain and it was mixed with sleet at the end. It seemed like soup weather to me.

Comments are closed.


