What’s wrong with this picture?

No, it isn’t the snow.  We covered that topic yesterday, when these photos were taken (the snow enhanced the contrast nicely).  Snow in April is called poor man’s fertilizer in Maine.  As commenter Jeannie mentioned, snow is laced with nitrates, when it melts quickly it leaves behind some N for the emerging plants.

Above is one of my garlic beds.  Look carefully.  In addition to poor (+/- 50%) sprouting, there is a second problem.

Above is a second garlic bed in the opposite corner of the garden.  Notice how lush the foliage is.  Now look at the foliage in the first bed. Three guesses as to what is happening….

Time’s up! Did you guess chickens?  If yes, you were right!

The hens are eating the greens where they can stick their scrawny necks through the fence.  Arghh.  Tomorrow I need to add some hen deterrent.  Sheesh.  If it isn’t a groundhog or a Golden Retriever, it’s a chicken.

8 Responses to “What’s wrong with this picture?”

  1. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    That’s surprising. I thought only humans ate garlic. I’ve heard tales about goats, sheep, and donkeys destroying entire gardens, excepting only the garlic patch. I don’t think I’ll test this myself though with my own chickens and garlic patch. Maybe, if I remember, I’ll see whether they’re interested when it gets closer to harvest time and my garlic can spare part of a leaf here or there.

    Sorry to hear you’re garlic is under assault though.

  2. Linda Says:

    Chickens will eat just about anything, I’ve found. Ours are roaming free now, but once my gardens get started, they stay in their pen and pout. I had to add smaller diameter chicken wire to the garden/pen shared fence to avoid them sticking their heads through to graze.

  3. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    Oooh, it’s so good for them, though! A natural dewormer, I’ve read :-)
    Clearly, they assessed the situation and decided you had plenty, so wanted to help you take a bit off your hands. Nothing’s too much for your “babies”, right? :-)

  4. nruit Says:

    Our “house” goat, the bottle baby boy, got into John’s sprouting shallots over by the french doors… I don’t think the goat knew what happened when he got whisked away to his box in the bathroom (sporting a mouthful of greens)!

  5. Julie Says:

    This is exact reason why I am expanding my girl’s yard. You give them space, a yard, a field, and they want more. So, with that they can sit on their outside roost and pout!

  6. nancybond Says:

    Chickens eat anything! I was quite amused and surprised as we watched a friend’s chicken clean out the inside of a turnip, so clean that all that was left was the purple skin when she was done! Actually, it was quite impressive. :)

  7. Daphne Says:

    Such bad chickens, but maybe it will season their eggs?

  8. Robin Says:

    Oh dear, how funny but how frustrating. Poor garlic. I don’t blame them though. I do love me some garlic.

Comments are closed.


