Gardening interrupted

My week of gardening excess was interrupted on Friday when Dan and I made a trip to Boston to meet up with my pal Holly and wander about the city.  We did touristy things and enjoyed every minute.  Our first stop was the Mapparium at the Christian Science Center, one of my favorite things to do, and even better now than it was 20 years ago the first time I saw it.  The Mapparium itself is stunning, a 30 foot in diameter stained glass globe depicting the world as it was in 1935.  Added since my first visit is better lighting and an audio presentation.  No photos are allowed of the Mapparium, although I am sure I couldn’t do credit to this amazing work of art even if they were allowed.  The entire building is just beautiful, even the women’s bathroom is gorgeous and spotless.

Next we skyrocketed to the top of the Prudential Building for a bird’s eye view of Boston.  We enjoyed looking down on the recently visited Christian Science Center, and the views of the city.  I learned the the Back Bay Fens, a large park behind the Museum of Fine Arts (and yes, adjacent to that baseball stadium) contains the Fenway Victory Gardens, a 7 acre community garden that has been in continuous operation since World War II when it was created as a Victory Garden.  The gardens now contain about 500 15’x25′ plots.  We didn’t have time to visit Friday, but this is definitely on my list for a future visit.

We did manage a quick visit to the North End, where I had a cannoli at Maria’s Pastry Shop.  I only wish they traveled by bus a little better!

As always when spending the day with Holly, we had a great time.  Thanks, O!

2 Responses to “Gardening interrupted”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    What happy rosy cheeks. Thanks for the Boston tour.

  2. jeannie Says:

    I liked the tour of Boston. And what great pics of you and Holly and You and Dan.

Comments are closed.


