Harvest Monday

Spinach and Ricotta Quiche with spinach from the garden and of course, Henbogle eggs.  Beautiful spinach is the good news, the bad news, is the arugula grown in the hoop house is awful. I think the daytime temps just get too hot for it.

Actually, I think it is a result of the very early spring — it isn’t even showing visible signs of bolting, it just tastes that way.

Time to sow some more arugula under row cover in the garden and hope for a couple of good harvests.  I love it with a lemon and garlic dressing with parmesan and walnuts, or on pizza.

I’m posting this as part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.  Click over to her Daphne’s Dandelions to see what other gardeners are harvesting and eating right now

13 Responses to “Harvest Monday”

  1. GrafixMuse Says:

    Ooooohhhh! Looks good. I need to try making quiche one day

    • Ali Says:

      I love quiche, it is delicious and so flexible. It is great to take to lunch for work. I was too lazy today, but you can make mini quiches in muffin tins and freeze the extra for lunches. If you were closer I’d give you some eggs to try it!

  2. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    The quiche looks tasty. Sorry about the arugula.

  3. villager Says:

    Arugula on pizza? I never thought of that! That quiche sure looks yummy.

    • Ali Says:

      Villager — it is wonderful tossed on as soon as the pizza comes out of the oven. Try it with sundried tomato pesto pizza, and the arugula tossed with a little lemon salad dressing. Here’s my recipe: http://yankeepantry.wordpress.com/2009/05/27/sundried-tomato-pesto/

      Drool inducing, indeed.

      • villager Says:

        I just made some of that pesto and it is AWESOME! I used some of our dried tomatoes that I soaked in water first. The sweetness of the tomatoes contrasts nicely with the peppery bite of the arugula. Now I need to whip up some pizza dough…..

    • Ali Says:

      So glad you liked it! I’m bummed that I missed my first planting of arugula, as I have been craving it. Ah well, I will sow some outside this weekend. I hope I have tomatoes to dry this year!

  4. Daphne Says:

    Quiche and spinach (or chard) just seem to go together so well. Yours looks great.

  5. Taylor Says:

    Something about springtime veggies and quiche! Sorry to hear about the arugula- nothing worse than bitter greens!

  6. Robin Says:

    The quiche looks awesome! I have arugula plants outside without cover and so far, it’s doing well.

  7. wf Says:

    Whats wrong with the arugula? Bitter?

    In Vienna – I had a pizza once and they served it with a pile of arugula on top. Very interesting. Went well.

    The quice looks yum : )

  8. julie jones neily Says:

    I just have to say Ali that quiche of your’s is down right pretty. I’m sure your girl’s will appreciate the arugula, nothing seems to go to waste with chicken around.

Comments are closed.


