Harvest Monday: Salad days

This week’s harvest included 8 oz. of spinach, 18 oz. of lettuce, and 2 bunches of scallions.  The scallions overwintered outside, the spinach overwintered in the hoophouse, and the lettuce was direct sowed in the hoophouse in February.  The February lettuce is still being thinned because I hate thinning and we over-seeded not believing a February sowing would be so successful!

No photos of the harvest because I am lazy, but I’ll point you instead to a delicious recipe for a lemony almost Caesar salad dressing I’ve been enjoying lately.  We’ve still got some spinach remaining in the hoop house, but yet again I’ve bungled the timing and we will definitely be enduring a spinach -free spell while my last two succession plantings mature.  Sigh.  Anyone have a fool-proof succession planting scheme for spinach?  If so, please share!

See the delicious garden bounty others are harvesting at Daphne’s Dandelions as part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.

7 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Salad days”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Lazy. Yes, that’s the word that comes to mind when I think of you. *snort*

  2. nancybond Says:

    Jealous! Your plantings much have been spot on to be enjoying such bounty already. :) Enjoy!

  3. villager Says:

    I’m still working out the details of when and how much spinach to plant myself. I’m jealous you still have some coming on – ours is about done for!

    Lettuce thinnings are nice. Better to have a lot than not enough, I think.

  4. Daphne Says:

    I wish I could get spinach to produce when I want. It seems so finicky to me. I hope our warm spell doesn’t make it all bolt prematurely.

  5. Angela Moll Says:

    I’d like to know the secrets of succession for all type of crops! I am used to gaps in all my successions: between my timing mistakes, predation and the weather acting up I am forced to make do with whatever I’ve got going in the garden…

    Nice new banner, love those tulips!

  6. michelle Says:

    I don’t have a foolproof succession scheme for anything. I’m just now thinking that I should sow more lettuce when the last sowing is on the verge of bolting. It’s feast or famine for most things in my garden. It sounds like you had the makings for a few good salads.

  7. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    No sorry, I don’t have one either. I rarely grow spinach as I have so many other greens on hand though after all these overwintering pictures, I’m curious to give that a try. I used to wintersow mine but that just gave me a huge spring harvest that I would eat and freeze.

Comments are closed.


