Lilac Sunday

Lilac season has come early to Henbogle this year.  I didn’t note the bloom time last year, but in 2008 our lilacs were blooming on May 23.  We are about 2 weeks ahead of schedule.  Tonight’s temps are going to be in the low 30s, I hope the blossoms don’t get frosted.  I’m sure apple and fruit growers statewide are nervous about the cold temps predicted for the next few nights.

These lilacs are not quite open all the way, I might have left them for another day or two, but they were being trimmed back from the barn –lucky me!

Dan edged and weeded my new lilac hedge this afternoon, then I added some organic fertilizer, newspapers, and a thick layer of chopped up leaves mixed with compost.  This hedge is just 2 years old.  All the plants except an old-fashioned white I transplanted from a sucker are from Fedco.  The Charles Joly, a double dark purple, is blooming for the first time.  I can hardly wait for the rest to begin blooming. .

.

.

Nothing says spring like a big bouquet of lilacs scenting the room.

5 Responses to “Lilac Sunday”

  1. Kim Says:

    I filled a couple vases full of lilacs today as well. first cutting her too. Love the look and the smell. I have TONS of babies (light purple & white) if you ever want any more.

  2. jeannie Says:

    The french lilacs are the prettiest I think with their long stem of tiny flowers just uzzing with fragrance. The lilac it’s self is quite the fragrante flower.

  3. nancybond Says:

    Oh my, I cannot wait for the lilacs here! That last arrangement is simply gorgeous.

  4. rebecca Says:

    The bottom photo – stunningingly and simply beautiful! Lilacs are one of my favorite sights and scent. We have two very old bushes. The concept of a “hedge” is fascinating – I may have to go for that.

  5. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    I grew up in an old farm house in North Vassalboro, Maine, and we had a hedge of lilacs as well as a huge bush growing by the barn. How I loved them! And, yes, those purple lilacs in the white pitcher are beauties.

Comments are closed.


