Harvest Monday: the lettuce edition

The early spring lettuce is really producing now, it is so tasty!  Sunday we harvested 3 lbs. of lettuce, 18 oz. of spinach, and 8.5 oz. of green onions.  This will keep us in salad all week.

The spinach had slowed down in growth; I am hoping the cooler temperatures this week change its mind.  I am still thinning the over-planted lettuce so I will be harvesting lettuce from my February sowing for another 3-4 weeks.  (Thinning is why I picked so much — to make room!).  I hope by then the successive sowings I’ve made will be coming ready.  Dan washed the lettuce and spinach while I finished dividing some perennials to share.  There was so much lettuce he laid it on a bath towel to dry off before packaging up for the week.

For dinner Sunday we enjoyed a delicious salad made with some simple grilled chicken, locally grown (albeit not that flavorful) hothouse tomatoes, green onions, parmesan cheese, walnuts and homemade Caesar dressing.  I was seriously considering licking the bowl at the end.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.  See what other gardeners from all over the country are growing at her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.

7 Responses to “Harvest Monday: the lettuce edition”

  1. Daphne Says:

    It seems it is the week for salads in the North East. I was so eying the hothouse tomatoes at the store the other day. There is something wrong with salads as it is hard to harvest lettuce and tomatoes at the same time in the garden. But I love the combination.

    It looks like you have lettuce to last. I picked just a bit and the rest still needs time to get bigger. I’m hoping for another salad this coming week, but not counting on it.

  2. WF Says:

    Look at you! Thats a great harvest. Any broiler chickens in plan thsi year?

    LOVE the picture of the bird with the orange. I am sure some publication would love to ‘acquire’ it. I have never seen a bird with such orange breast feathers. Amazing!

  3. villager Says:

    That is a nice bucket of veggies and eggs! And what a great harvest of lettuce. Have you tried drying tomatoes? We really enjoy them with salads. Just soak them in water for a bit first.

  4. michelle Says:

    Your lettuce looks really lovely, so tender and sweet. I haven’t succumbed to hothouse tomatoes yet. Fruit is a nice alternative in a salad, I’ve been using apples or grapefruit lately.

  5. Emily Says:

    What lovely lettuce and what a lot! You’ll be enjoying your greens this week for sure.

  6. Angela Moll Says:

    You did a lot of lettuce thinning indeed. I like the photo of the lettuce drying in the paper towels. It conveys the abundance very well.

  7. My Cheap CFL Grow Light Fixture Results in Hydroponics (Lettuce and Beans) Says:

    […] Harvest Monday: the lettuce edition « Henbogle […]

Comments are closed.