The down side to an early spring

We had a bad frost last night, on our official last frost date for the area.  When I came downstairs this morning a few minutes after 5, it was 24°F.  Is that a frost or a freeze?  Lots of our perennial plants were affected.  The rudbeckias, Golden Glow and Indian Summer got hit, as did the peonies, tulips, hyssop, and even the bee balm. Fortunately, anything out in the vegetable garden should be OK — beets, lettuce, spinach, carrots, leeks, and celery and brassicas under row cover.  The carrots are only fitfully germinating anyway, sigh.

Bad enough for Henbogle’s garden, but far worse for the region’s growers.  I’m sure fruit trees of all types were impacted, and possibly berries, too.  Ugh.  Imagine a year without strawberries — heartbreaking!

And to think, I was seriously contemplating setting out my tomatoes last weekend — under row cover, but still.  Good thing I came to my senses!

8 Responses to “The down side to an early spring”

  1. Daphne Says:

    That is a pretty good freeze. We lucked out here. One Forecaster said I’d get to 29F but we only got down to 34F. That could frost over things, but luckily I’m on the top of a hill so that cold air just goes to the bottom and I’m safe.

  2. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    That’s definitely a freeze. Bummer. We were supposed to get down to 32 overnight, 5 days past our average last frost date. My thermometer said 37 when I came down. I think everything I have out can handle that. It’s mostly brassicas, lettuces, spinach, potatoes, carrots and beets out there so far. The chard probably isn’t thrilled with the big temperature swings though.

    Glad your frost tender stuff isn’t out yet. Keep an eye on your forecast.

  3. Sara Says:

    Bummer! So far we’ve been lucky with frost advisories, and at least in our somewhat sheltered yard have stayed above 30. I suspect farmers in more exposed areas are more worried about fruits too.

    I think the frustrating thing has been the highs in the last week have been barely in the 50s, that’s what I want my low temps to be! I’m holding off on my tender stuff too, thank goodness for cold-season crops, they are keeping me patient :)

  4. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    That is too bad! Especially, as you mentioned, for the region’s growers. Since we are tucked in the woods in central Maine, we are less susceptible to such freezes. Of course, being so sheltered also makes it hard to grow things. I wonder if the perennials will rally? Anyway, good luck!

  5. Kevin Says:

    Yes indeed, the early spring had us under its spell. We got down to 30 in our Portland, making for crunchy row cover this morning. Perennials should recover when we warm up this week and hopefully that trend will continue.

  6. Angela Moll Says:

    Good thing you came to your senses indeed. I am sorry to hear about the hardship for your region’s growers, but I’m glad that your garden didn’t suffer much. You showed wise restraint by holding on planting those tomatoes. I don’t know that I would’ve have been able to…

  7. Stacy Says:

    I like your blog!

    What are those little blue flowers called?
    Are they forget me nots? I really want
    some for the yard but I can’t find any!

    Keep up the good work!

    • Ali Says:

      They are indeed Forget-Me-Nots, one of the Myosotis species, but as they are self-sown, I don’t know which. I do love them in the spring with the tulips.

Comments are closed.


