Plow Day

Got a hankering to see big, beautiful draft horses at work?  Head to the Deri Farm in North Yarmouth, Maine on Saturday for the 2nd annual Plow Day.

Skyline Farm, Deri Farm and the Farmers Draft Horse, Mule and Pony Club of Maine are sponsoring the demonstration, which is free and open to the public. The teams and teamsters will begin at 9 a.m. and finish sometime in the afternoon. “These hosses were born to work. They love it.” said Luther Gray, one of the teamsters who will be participating in the event with a team of draft horses. The teamsters will describe the proceedings and answer questions. In case of rain, the event will be held on May 15.

Thanks to Henbogle reader Patrick for giving me the heads up on this, it sound great!

2 Responses to “Plow Day”

  1. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    If I lived closer, I’d be there in a minute. I love those beautiful animals, and I hope that plowing with horses is a trend that comes back to Maine.

  2. Robin Says:

    Wow, that would be so neat to see. I went to our state fair last year and watched teams drive around with their draft horses and wagons. Talk about some talent they had. I have never seen anyone do “real” work with horses before.

Comments are closed.


