Hummingbirds

The Ruby-Throated Hummingbirds are back.  Saturday morning I was moving seedlings onto our deck when one buzzed me.  If you’ve had a hummingbird zip past your head at warp speed you will know what I mean — they make a very distinctive sound.

I called to Dan and he got out our feeders while I made a sugar solution.  We filled 2 feeders and hung them out.  I did not see any activity Saturday or Sunday, but this morning while having breakfast Dan got these photos of a female hummingbird at about 5:45.  I have since seen a male at the feeder.I just love these Humzinger feeders — they provide nice perches, are easy to clean, and my other feeder (not pictured) has a built-in ant moat and the nectar recipe molded onto the cover.  I just love the hummingbirds, and am looking forward to being buzzed all summer long.

6 Responses to “Hummingbirds”

  1. GrafixMuse Says:

    Great pics! I had one zip by me this weekend as well. I was so excited to welcome back these little hummers.

  2. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    Terrific pictures! And, wonderful news as well. I haven’t seen any in Winthrop yet, but I’ll be looking for them.

  3. villager Says:

    They’re here in Indiana also. I hung the feeders yesterday. Ours might be just passing through, but they’ll need food regardless. Those are some nice feeders, I need to check them out. Mine are not so easy to clean.

  4. nancybond Says:

    My parents spotted a hummer about a week ago, with great excitement, I might add. :) We’ve always had such a problem with ants here, but I may look for one of those feeders! We should be able to hang it away from the deck a bit this year, too. I’m glad the little critters are back.

  5. chook Says:

    they are surprisingly loud for such a tiny creature.

  6. jeannie Says:

    the pics are great!!! I just love the little hummerzzzzzzz! And to get pics while they are sitting still is I think hard to do. They come and go so fast that some times all you do is just hear them and not see them.

Comments are closed.


