Harvest Monday: Let there be salad. And leeks.

And more salad.  The overwintered Olympia spinach produced yet another 18 oz. of lovely spinach.  The spring planted spinach is looking wan and limp.  I think the lesson here is plant spinach in October for a fabulous spring crop.  I will pick my last batch of it today or tomorrow as I can see a few plants beginning to bolt, (not surprising with the lengthening days and hot weather we’ve had) and I need to make room for cukes and melons.

The lettuce is still doing amazingly well in the hoophouse, despite high temperatures.  Last week we picked 38 oz.  and another bunch of scallions before Dan dug them up to make way for the squash bed.  And finally, I picked six small overwintered leeks (1 1/2 lbs.)  to make a batch of delicious leek tartlets for a brunch.  Leeks are another crop I will never be without again and I don’t know why I did not overwinter them before now.

See what other gardeners are harvesting at Daphne’s Dandelions for her weekly Harvest Monday post.

9 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Let there be salad. And leeks.”

  1. tempusflits Says:

    I’m impressed with your gardens and gardening skills. I’m not young, but I am new to veggie gardening. My soil is awful, and I lack the strength and resire to redo it, so, then, I discovered container gardening! Yippee! I harvested baby beets, yesterday. They were wonderful.

    Enjoyed your post!

  2. Thomas Says:

    Nice…I really have to build a high tunnel one of these days.

  3. Daphne Says:

    I never thought that leeks would survive the overwintering process. I’ll have to try that some year. Spring leeks would be fabulous.

  4. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    Nice looking harvest. I’m jealous of your leeks. I have leek moth here and unless I cover them, I don’t get to eat any!

  5. villager Says:

    I’m with you on the overwintered spinach. It did lots better here also. And that hoophouse lettuce does look great!

  6. Angela Moll Says:

    Timing lessons are the best ones, now that you’ve figured the ideal fall planting time for your spinach you will always be able to enjoy a good spring crop!

  7. Sara Says:

    Quick question on the overwintered spinach. Did it come up at all in the fall, or just wait until spring? Thanks!

Comments are closed.


