Harvest Monday: and yet more lettuce!

I harvested 8 oz. of kale, chives and chive blossoms, and yet more delicious lettuce this week.  I love salads and this has been a great spring for them, thanks to the hoophouse!

As I have an abundance of lettuce right now, I gave some away to an AmeriCorps VISTA working with the Maine Cooperative Extension Service, but I included that in the total.  This week, I harvested 69 oz. of lettuce, over 4 lbs.  Alas, the spinach has bolted, so I have been pulling that to make room for cukes and melons in the hoophouse, and giving it to the hens.  The hens fall upon it and shortly all that remains is a few shredded stems.  No wonder their eggs taste so delicious!

I did not make it to the Farmers’ Market last week to check on the lettuce prices, so for now have left it at $9/lb., but I will check and make an adjustment as soon as I can get a current price. I also have no idea how to price the chives or chive blossoms, so I did not include them.  Any suggestions?

We’ve also been making inroads on our canned goods from last year, eating dilly beans and pickled beets, and I’ve used more of the frozen fruit from the freezer, yum.  I made a delicious salad yesterday with lettuce, chives, thawed sweet cherries, blue cheese, walnuts and maple-lime dressing. Mmm mmm good.

This brings my total crop value for the year to a whopping $201.42.  I did add some expenses this past week, a bag of potting soil, a hose wand and some seeds, bringing my expenses to $267.54, leaving me still in the red at $-66.12 for the year.

See what other gardeners are harvesting at Daphne’s Dandelions, where Daphne brings gardeners together from across the globe to share the harvest.

7 Responses to “Harvest Monday: and yet more lettuce!”

  1. vrtlaricaana Says:

    What a great looking salad! I have to try adding chives flowers to my salads.

  2. villager Says:

    I’ve got no ideas on how to value the herbs either. We can barely even find some of the stuff we grow, given our lack of variety at farmer’s markets and such. And how do you price something like garlic scapes, which I’ve never even seen offered for sale in my area.

    My chive blossom vinegar is almost gone. I had a smaller than usual number of blooms this year. Your blooms look really nice.

    I’ll bet the eggs do taste good given what goodies you feed the hens!

  3. Angela Moll Says:

    I guess you need to find a price for the chive vinegar, not just the chive blossoms, since you are really adding this value to your crop. So I would compare it with artisanal flavored vinegars in fancy stores or maybe in your farmer’s market.

    The spinach you fed your hens should count too, since chicken feed is also expensive, isn’t it?

  4. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    That chive blossom vinegar looks amazing. I have never thought to make some. What a great idea!

  5. mangochild Says:

    That’s great that you were able to give some of your crop to others. I love the smell of chives. Sorry to hear about the spinach though. But I hope that with the warm weather, the cukes and melons will come along quickly.

  6. Jackie Says:

    Lovely chive blossoms. I’d never heard of chive blossom vinegar – very pretty. Thank, again, for visiting my blog and helping me out with the chicks!

  7. Daphne Says:

    I so want to make chive vinegar like you are, but currently my life is in boxes and not even moved to the new house yet (today it will be!). Right now I’m on my husband’s work computer. At least I get to see a few of the Monday harvests today.

Comments are closed.


