Leeky, lettucey love

Blah blah blah kale, lettuce and leeks.  Sigh.  I LOVE the delicious lettuce, but this must be getting boring for the rest of you!  This week’s total, 9 glorious heads of lettuce, 25 oz. of kale, and 20 oz. of leeks overwintered from last year, with a tiny handful of flea beetle-chewed arugula and a few radishes.  I’m missing the scallions, I wish we had not needed to pull them in our quackgrass eradication project.

Harvest value update:  Expenses: $267.54  Crop value: $217.66  Garden value: $-49.89.  Getting closer to pay off!

This post is part of the delicious Harvest Monday series at Daphne’s Dandelions, where gardeners are invited, no, encouraged to boast about their harvests.

15 Responses to “Leeky, lettucey love”

  1. Thomas Says:

    haha. I feel the same way sometimes but I have to remind myself that a repetitive harvest is better than no harvest. That’s a lot of lettuce!

    • Ali Says:

      I gave some of it away, but I love it so I eat a lot of main-dish type salads. And yes, any harvest is better than no harvest!

  2. villager Says:

    Well, I for one don’t get tired of the harvest reports. When the garden gives you lettuce, leeks, kale and other goodies, that is a very good thing!

  3. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    I love blah blah greens. I know it gets challenging this time of year to talk of much else BUT hope is on the horizon. Speaking of storm clouds gathering, glad to hear the tornado missed you.

  4. michelle Says:

    And we do boast, don’t we! Now that my greens are pretty much history I’m starting to miss them. Look how pretty yours are.

  5. Annie's Granny Says:

    I was getting burned out with all my lettuce, so I stopped eating it for two days. Now my appetite for it has renewed, and I’m ready to begin emptying those multiple bags I have in the refrigerator, and to harvest the ton or two still left in the garden. OK, so it’s not really a ton or two…but it sure seems like it at times!

  6. Robin Says:

    It always seems that we have too many greens this time of year. Then I think back during the winter when all I could do is think about the taste of nice fresh greens :)

  7. Daphne Says:

    You are doing so well to have almost paid off this year’s expenses. And I could never get bored of lettuce and leeks. I wish I had some leeks right now – and a cook to cook them up for me.

    • Ali Says:

      Daphne, if you were closer I would cook for you. I remember how hard moving was, and how much a nice it would have been to have someone else cook for me! And really, I’m not bored with eating lettuce, leeks and greens, I’m just worried Henbogle readers will be!

  8. Jane Says:

    Wow 9 heads of lettuce…I’m jealous! That’s an awesome harvest!

  9. Lou Murray, Ph.D. Says:

    Oh, Ali, how could we be bored by such a beautiful harvest? My lettuce is almost all gone now, so I’m enjoying seeing yours.

  10. vrtlaricaana Says:

    Lettuce and arugula is never boring. I don’t have either to harvest. It all bolted and now I’m waiting for seeds.

  11. Taylor Says:

    I will never ever EVER get tired of people posting pictures of their leeks! DELICIOUS!

Comments are closed.


