Weird things you find in your garden

Yep, that’s a clam.  Or perhaps a mussel, I dimly recall that freshwater mussels resemble clams.  While Henbogle is in Midcoast Maine, we are quite a distance from the shore, so I suspect this is a freshwater clam or mussel.  But I am by no means an expert on clam identification.  Eating, however, is another matter.

And yes, this clam is alive, sort of.  See the innards?  That’s the foot, the light colored area on the left, and the neck, the dark circular area in the center.  I think.  Most of what I can recall of clam anatomy comes from eating steamers, dipped in butter.  Yum.

How did it get to Henbogle?  I suspect a seagull dropped it.  Perhaps it is from nearby Merrymeeting Bay.  Huh.

6 Responses to “Weird things you find in your garden”

  1. Chris Says:

    That is hilarious!

  2. O. Says:

    Add it to your harvest total! How many clams for a clam?

  3. Robin Says:

    I love it. How funny.

  4. Beth Says:

    Well, it has been windy. ha ha

  5. grafixmuse Says:

    Well that IS interesting. I would agree that your clam probably hitchhiked its way to Henboggle. I lived near the shore for a while. The birds love carry their treasures to drop on hard surfaces to crack the shells. Used to make such a mess on the driveway and sidewalks.

  6. Jeannie Says:

    It arrived in time for Alice in Wonderland! Buddy and I bought it for my birthday and I liked it, (and Thank you for the card I liked it too!).
    But I’m sure it did not come by-way of the rabbit or the Hatter. More than likely by Gull.
    Kind of like someone (Mother Nature)giving you a gift for like,…being a good gardener. I do know years gone by that people used to put such things in their gardens for mineral purposes, such as oystershells and egg shell etc…

Comments are closed.


