Canning cupboard

A couple of weeks ago, Dan and I were driving home when we saw an old cupboard by the side of the road with a free sign.  We stopped, and found ourselves a free cupboard we will use to store canning jars and equipment.

We made a space for it in the attic of our barn, and this afternoon I scrubbed it down, then we loaded it up with our canning jars and equipment.  We are ready for canning season now!

6 Responses to “Canning cupboard”

  1. Jean Says:

    Ali, This brought back memories of a cabinet in the basement of the house where we lived early in my childhood, full of canned food that my mother put up each summer. (I was particularly fond of all those jars of home-made jelly!) I think part of the reason I can food myself is because I have such fond feelings attached to that cabinet full of mason jars.

  2. Robin Says:

    YEAH! Very nice. I’m using a metal rack that was left on our property when it bought it for my canning jars. I still have way to many so all my stuff doesn’t fit on it.

  3. mangochild Says:

    Hooray! I got movable canning shelves (put them on casters) but that only worked because they are fairly low – only 3 shelves per unit. Yours looks like it will be great for the season.

  4. Emily Says:

    We have a built in canning cupboard that came in the basement of the house we bought. Unfortunately it is in a back dark corner and is pretty disgusting. I’m not sure if it is worth cleaning up. It did however have some beautiful old blue ball wire close jars. I need to clean those up and use them for decorating.

    • Ali Says:

      Oooh, old blue wire bail jars! Lucky you! Give the cupboard a chance if it is sturdy. You wouldn’t BELIEVE how dirty mine was. I threw away the cleaning rag, it was black with dirt.

  5. Roast Garlicious Says:

    ohhh lovely cupboard!!! recycling is ‘almost’ as good as canning itself!!!

Comments are closed.


