State of the garden mid June

Work is finally winding down for the year and I am enjoying a quiet morning at home today — perfect for a close look at how things are going in the garden.  Click to biggify the photos.

I love these volunteer poppies growing in the hoophouse.  Perhaps not my first choice of locales, but they are gorgeous!  I will save lots of seeds and try to encourage them elsewhere next year.

Anyone know if these are the edible (breadseed)  type?

The hoophouse lettuce, planted in March, is just about done.  We’ve enjoyed every bite and have had lots to share. After the photo I picked quite a bit of it.

The brassicas are gorgeous and delicious.  These rows are a mix of kales, calabrese broccoli, and cauliflower.  On the left you see leeks, onions and garlic.  Oh, and some overwintered leeks from last year.

I am thinking the tags got mixed up.  Is this purple sprouting broccoli or Violet Queen Cauliflower?  Guesses, anyone?

I’m pretty sure this is Violet Queen Cauliflower.

Southern Comet Broccoli.  Dinner Thursday, perhaps?

For the record, despite how fiddily it is to put down, I LOVE the IRT mulch.  Look at these tomatoes and peppers!  This is Maine, we still are not regularly above 50° at night.  I will need to start trellising the tomatoes on the fence asap.

The carrot patch.  I had pretty poor germination in here.  Is it worth trying again?

Dill and celery, with some lettuce seedlings in front.

More lettuce

Beets and Swiss Chard.  I had some germination issues with the chard, too.  I have some seedlings started to fill in.  I need to do some weeding here, too.

Garlic, with scapes.  Scapes are due to be harvested today.

Look for more photos in part 2.

7 Responses to “State of the garden mid June”

  1. Daphne Says:

    I keep thinking if I should be doing IRT mulch. But then I remember how much I hated black plastic and don’t do it. Maybe some day I’ll try it though. At least in southern New England we are warmer than you. Our nighttime averages in June are usually in the 50s.

  2. Robin Says:

    That’s a beautiful poppy! Your broccoli and cauliflower are really nice. I had problems with my broccolit here due to the extreme hot spells. I would think that the top photo is purple sprouting broccoli.

  3. Taylor Says:

    Ooooohhhh! Major poppy envy! They are gorgeous. What a bright treat to see every day!

  4. Annie's Granny Says:

    Love the poppy! I planted some impatiens seeds in sterile potting mix, kept under a dome in the shed. One impatiens, three things that look like weeds, and one plant that is possibly a poppy emerged. I’m anxious for it to bloom, to see if it is a poppy or just a weed!

  5. Robin Says:

    Beautiful poppies! I love the color of them. Everything is looking really nice in your garden.

  6. mangochild Says:

    Lovely! Especially, as others said, the poppies. Sorry about the slow start with the chard, but it looks like it is picking up well now :-) And that broccoli, very impressive, particularly this early in the season. Enjoy!

  7. Jen Says:

    I do believe your poppy is the kind grown for edible seeds. Most of the other poppy species have hairy stems and leaves, and yours looks smooth. What a pretty crop to grow!
    Lovely gardens, and way ahead of mine despite your being further north.

Comments are closed.


