Harvest Monday: Broccoli

We enjoyed broccoli and cauliflower from the garden this past week, a whole pound of it.  We had a mix of Piracicaba and Violet Queen cauliflower, and it was delicious.  We also harvested about an ounce of onion top thinnings and, you guessed it, more lettuce, almost 2 pounds.

With the lettuce, our harvest came in at a little over 3 lbs.  last week.  That brings the total crop value to $259.39, and the total value to $-8.15.  So close, and yet so far.  I will be further in the red next week, as I bought some straw mulch today, increasing my expenses.

I’m posting this as part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series at Daphne’s Dandelions.  Click on over to see what Daphne, and other gardeners across the land, are harvesting.

4 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Broccoli”

  1. Angela Moll Says:

    Broccoli and lettuce, lucky you! Mine are both long eaten, although I just planted more lettuce seed. You are indeed so close to catching up with your expenses, congratulations!

  2. Daphne Says:

    Ah so close. I cringe every time I buy something now. This is going to be my most expensive gardening year probably. Most of the expense will come in the fall though when a lot of the landscape gets put in.

  3. Emily Says:

    Beautiful harvests. It seems that everyone was harvesting the Piracicaba broccoli this week as I read through the harvest posts. I may have to try that variety next year.

  4. villager Says:

    I’m still in the red too, farther than you. That’s a lovely basket of lettuce!

Comments are closed.


