tomato trellising

Yesterday we trellised the unruly tomatoes.  They probably should have been staked a week ago, but oh well, life is what happens when you’re making other plans.

I pruned the lower branches off and used strips of discarded t-shirts to tie them to the fence, wrapping the t-shirt around the stem and handing it to Dan on the other side of the fence to tie.

Trellising the tomatoes will improve air circulation to prevent disease, and will free up space for the row of peppers planting in front of them.  We went from unruly mess to tidy row and happy peppers, and in the process, discovered our first green tomato!

I believe this is from the Cosmonaut Volkov.  I can hardly wait!

7 Responses to “tomato trellising”

  1. Angela Moll Says:

    I too just trellised my tomatoes and pruned low lying foliage. Some plants were already a couple feet tall when I got around to trellising them. Better late than never!

  2. Daphne Says:

    I found my first green tomato too, but at the old house. Sigh. I probably won’t get the honor of harvesting it. I can’t wait for the ones at the new house to start setting. I’m guessing though if I looked hard I’d find a tiny one somewhere.

    • Ali Says:

      Daphne, you could harvest it for some green tomato pickle or a fried green tomato! Good job selling your house in this market, though.

  3. Taylor Says:

    I’ve managed to trellis about a third of my 90 plants. I have a lot more to go!

  4. julie Says:

    Ali and Dan, your garden is so neat and tidy I am impressed, could you come down my way. My tomatoes appear slow growing this year however, my peas well- I have retied them again- seven feet and climbing! By the way love the header of garden coated toes! (How are your girl’s, has anyone headed for the post office!)

  5. Robin Says:

    So is trellising your tomatoes better then using a tomato cage?

Comments are closed.


