Strawberries

A gloomy forecast for the week led us to decide today was the day for our annual strawberry extravaganza.  We picked 58 lbs. by 10:30 this morning at Fairwinds Farm.  Most of them are now in the freezer, with a quart reserved for fresh eating, and some in the dehydrator to jazz up the winter salads.

I love my strawberry breakfast smoothies!  I keep thinking I should plant a row of everbearing but haven’t managed to yet.  With gorgeous berries so close for picking, I don’t think I’ll ever plant spring-bearing berries but I would enjoy having fresh berries all summer.  It is just a questions of where….

9 Responses to “Strawberries”

  1. vrtlaricaana Says:

    If I had a strawberry farm near by, I don’t think I would be growing strawberries. I love the picture.

  2. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    58 pounds?!? Wow, that is some picking prowess! The two of you must be picking machines! Our local pick your own farm didn’t even open until 10am in strawberry season. Nice work!

    • Ali Says:

      Not until 10 am? Ugh, by then it is usually HOT. I like to pick as early as possible because it is cooler and the berries are at their highest sugar content in the early morning.

  3. mangochild Says:

    Wow! You’ve outdone us in picking amount I think… the strawberries are heading out here too, and we made our big trip about 2 weeks ago. It was a lot of picking, and a lot of preserving/freezing, but knowing that the delicious strawberries are there to enjoy, and the thought of opening a bag of those gems in January – its all worth it. Enjoy! What are you planning to do with them?

    • Ali Says:

      Mangochild, I LOVE strawberries, so I will just defrost some and eat them as a snack, or will put them in yogurt. Most often, though I make breakfast smoothies with them. MMMMM it take some of the pain away from leaving Henbogle in the morning to go to work ;-)

      WHat do you do with your frozen treasure?

  4. Kate Says:

    Um, you’re making me feel paranoid that my 12# aren’t enough (from Maxwell’s in Cape Liz). Must… go… pick… more! :)

  5. julie Says:

    Oh my the strawberries look wonderful this year! Keep your fingers crossed for good weather I am heading to Maxwells on Friday. I can’t wait to taste strawberries on a homemade Bakewell biscuit with real whip cream, could there be anything better?

  6. Daphne Says:

    Good lord! That is a lot of strawberries. I couldn’t eat that many in a year. I like smoothies but get tired of them if I have them all the time.

    • Ali Says:

      MMm I loves me a strawberry smoothie. Seriously, we eat them for breakfast at least twice a week. It is one way I can get Dan to eat more fruit. But really, I just LOVE strawberries and having them all winter long in Maine is good for my psyche.

Comments are closed.


