We’re in the money… for now

And as of this afternoon, we are in the black, ladies and gentleman!  That gorgeous, and delicious, I might add, head of Cassius cauliflower put Henbogle garden into the black.  I also harvested 6 oz. of Piracicaba broccoli.

Dan and I were hungry tonight so the cauliflower didn’t last long.  I had the water boiling when I went out to see what was for dinner, and lo, there it was under the row cover. I yanked the plant and lopped off the head, then threw the plant and the trimmings to the appreciative hens, before bringing it triumphantly to the kitchen.

Trimmed, it weighed in at 20 oz., and was in the steamer before you could say Mohammed Ali.  Served with a little butter it was fantastic with some salad and poached chicken with arugula pesto.

Unfortunately, I suspect I won’t be in the black too long as I need to purchase some more seed starting mix and get cracking on my fall brassica plantings!  A few weeks ago I made the mistake of taking the easy road and purchasing some Jolly Gardener brand “potting soil,” and it is terrible.  I think it is half-finished municipal compost dyed black.  UGH.  It is loaded with twigs and chunky stuff, and appears to have no nutrients at all.  I tried starting some seeds in it with very poor germination and even more dismal growth.  Sigh.  I really like Fort V potting mix to start seedlings in, the seedlings germinate well and grow even better.  I should have made the effort to get over to Johnny’s retail store but I was too busy with the end of the semester, and I’m sorry now.

No rest for the Wicked here at Henbogle.  I’m looking at a quick trip to a nearby nursery tomorrow and then I’ll be starting a lot more cauliflower seeds!

10 Responses to “We’re in the money… for now”

  1. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    Great to hear that your garden account is doing well and nice looking produce to boot. I can’t wait to sow some fall cauliflower.

  2. Daphne Says:

    I love Fort V so much too. I just wish there were someplace to buy it here in eastern Mass. I used it last year and I had the best seedlings I’ve ever had. I made my own mix this year and it was OK, but not as good.

    And congrats for being in the black at least for a while.

  3. michelle Says:

    Wow, that is an impressive cauliflower!

    We’ve got different brands of potting soil around here, but there is a huge range of quality and the crappy stuff can really set you back.

  4. meemsnyc Says:

    That’s a nice looking cauli and broccoli!

  5. chook Says:

    congrats! that’s quite a milestone. and looks delish to boot.

  6. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Very nice. Can I just say how jealous I am that you have the option of popping down to Johnny’s retail store? I’m jealous. I hope the bagged stuff you bought doesn’t contain any of that awful persistent herbicide that’s ending up in compost and potting soil by way of manure from animals that ate from fields sprayed with the nasty stuff. Can’t remember the name, but you know what I’m talking about, I’m sure.

  7. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    Hooray, Hooray! And what a beautiful cauliflower. Reminds me of cooler weather and curried chickpea and cauliflower soup.

  8. tom | tall clover farm Says:

    That is quite an accomplishment. I often think the only folks in the black are those selling things to farmers, growers and gardeners. Nice work and gorgeous veggies!

    I love the hammock shot and those handsome gardeners’ feet. A fan of the hammock, I share mine with these two hammock hogs: http://tallcloverfarm.com/?p=280

  9. mangochild Says:

    Congratulations! I’m impressed at how organized/planned out you are in keeping track of it all :-)

  10. jeannie Says:

    Looks great you two! Glad to hear your in the black! And when it is all said an done, you and Dan will always be in the black with good food, good health, good family, and good friends.

Comments are closed.


