Harvest Monday: and there were peas for dinner

We harvested 4 3/4 lbs. of produce from the garden this week, most notably our first harvest of sugar snap peas.  Those babies didn’t even make the photo shoot they were so tasty.  Dan and I were pretty hungry and tired after our strawberry efforts, so we had a simple meal of quesidillas on the grill with steamed snap peas on the side.  We devoured the entire pound of peas and looked for more.

We are still harvesting lettuce (28 0z.) , kale (24 oz.) and another delicious harvest of broccoli (20 oz.).  As close as I am to breaking even, I thought this would be the week, but alas, I purchased some straw for mulch and had to add that into my expenses at $6.50/bale.  Sigh.  End result:  Expenses $274.04, Crop value $271.96 Total: $-2.08.  I should have had kale for breakfast I guess!

I’m posting this as part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series, where you can drool over the harvests of other gardeners who are a zone or more ahead of you.  (Daphne, will you please make more of an effort to recruit gardeners from zones 4, 3 and 2.  Thanks!)

10 Responses to “Harvest Monday: and there were peas for dinner”

  1. mangochild Says:

    Sugar snap peas are one of those things that go from garden to mouth faster than one can blink I think!

  2. Robin Says:

    Boy, you still have lettuce! I had to go to the local growers market yesterday to buy some. I bet the taste of those peas, made your day..yummy!

  3. GrafixMuse Says:

    I have had salad for breakfast before. Especially earlier this spring when things were just growing and it had been so long since I had fresh lettuce. Most of my early snow peas never make it out of the garden as I tend to munch on them like potato chips while I am checking things out.

  4. Emily Says:

    Lovely harvest. I’m in zone 5 but seem to be on a similar harvest time as your garden. It is a bit hard to long after some of those sungold tomatoes others are posting and know I have months to go.

  5. Allison Says:

    Quesadillas on the grill sounds fantastic!

  6. julie Says:

    Beautiful produce Ali !

  7. villager Says:

    Well, I must say that it’s been no picnic here in zone 6, what with temps in the mid to upper 90s for a couple of weeks! Sugar snap peas would melt in our heat. You have a nice harvest of cooler season crops. The lettuce is wilting here!

  8. thyme2garden Says:

    I’m so envious that you got some peas! Most of mine got chewed up by bunnies, and the rest got dried up in the heat. Over the weekend, I saw two pea pods about 0.5 inch long just hanging on for dear life, but I’m not sure that they will make it. Villager, I now have a vision of melted sugar snap peas slowly dripping from my brittle pea vines…

  9. michelle Says:

    I’m envious, my snap peas are done already and I miss them, it seemed like my pea season was short this year.

  10. Lori Kauffman Says:

    Wow! Nice lettuce! We’re lots warmer here, and the lettuce and peas have gone by the wayside weeks ago.
    ~~Lori

Comments are closed.


