Strawberry Jam with Balsamic Vinegar and Black Pepper

I made two batches of this jam yesterday, a riff on the recipe in Christine Ferber’s fabulous jams cookbook, Mes Confitures ( I had no raspberry juice). It is amazing!  I love the deep rose/burgundy shade adding the balsamic vinegar gives the jam.  The flavor is as good as it looks.  The balsamic vinegar deepens the flavor and the black pepper give it a subtle… something.  It is difficult to describe after just one sample.  I’ll have to try it again.  Fortunately, I made 2 batches so I have some to share!

I’ve posted the recipe on Yankee Pantry.  It is worth trying.

5 Responses to “Strawberry Jam with Balsamic Vinegar and Black Pepper”

  1. Robin Says:

    That sounds great! I make many varieties of jams and jellies. I’m always looking for something new. I just may have to try this :)

  2. Annie's Granny Says:

    I’ve eaten strawberries with balsamic vinegar, and heard they were also good with black pepper, but I’ve never heard of jam made this way. Now I’m really hoping my strawberries take off soon, as I’ll definitely have to try it!

  3. chook Says:

    what a fascinating combination of flavors. i’m going to have to try this out!

  4. Robin Says:

    Interesting! I have yet to make any jam myself. Maybe this year I will. My mom made some for me last year and I still haven’t used it all.

    • Ali Says:

      I give lots of it away as gifts, far more than we eat. Jam is a great way to start canning.

Comments are closed.


