Harvest Monday: And there was cauliflower

The garden is really kicking in here at Henbogle.  We harvested 16.5 lbs. of produce this week:

4 oz. Herbs (thyme, chives, lavender)
39. oz Snap peas
44 oz. Cauliflower
34 oz. Broccoli
63.5 oz. Lettuce
14 oz. Rhubarb

The rhubarb went into a rhubarb custard pie for the holiday, the lavender is being used to make lavender sugar,lettuce was in salads, and the rest of the delicious produce was eaten pretty much adorned with butter and salt.  YUM.

We did enjoy a spectacular BLT sandwich with a gorgeous tomato from the farmers market with our lettuce and bacon from our Ruit Farm freezer pig on homemade sunflower oat bread.

Although I did purchase some additional garden supplies (potting soil, neem oil, Sluggo) to the tune of $31, spectacular harvests of lettuce and cauliflower saved the day and we remain in the black here at Henbogle.

The crop value for the year is $319.21, total expenses are at $305.54, total weight of produce harvested is at 61.78 lbs. and the total net value of the crop is $13.67.  I hope this will be the last of the garden expenses for the year, so we should be staying in the green for the remainder of the season.

On deck for harvesting this week:  our first patty pan squash and zucchini.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.  Check out the food independence going on in gardens across the land at Daphne’s Dandelions.  Happy Independence Day!

11 Responses to “Harvest Monday: And there was cauliflower”

  1. Robin Says:

    You have the best cauliflower!! I have cauliflower envy :)

  2. Lou Murray, Ph.D. Says:

    Amazing, over 16 lbs of produce. I can only dream. And rhubarb too. My rhubarb experiment seems to have failed. The one leaf that came up has died even though it never got any bigger than my palm. The poor thing is trying to send up a second leaf, but I don’t have much hope for that sad little plant. Rhubarb likes your climate better than mine.

  3. kitsapFG Says:

    Excellent harvest for the week! That BLT is making my mouth water. Best thing in the world to celebrate tomatoes and lettuce.

  4. tempusflits Says:

    That’s a gorgeous looking harvest and your bread sounds wonderful. What a wonderful sandwich that must have made. Congratulations!

  5. villager Says:

    What a great harvest! That BLT makes me hungry. I need to bake some bread so we can have some, while we have lettuce and tomatoes at the same time.

  6. nruit Says:

    Yum! A BLT sounds pretty good to me right now!

  7. Allison Says:

    What a wonderful harvest!! Your post is making me hungry!

  8. mangochild Says:

    WOW! That’s an awesome harvest. I’m impressed that you are still getting rhubarb – its been gone for about a month here.

  9. Daphne Says:

    Congrats on keeping in the black. I remember last week you didn’t think you would. I can’t wait to get into the black but I wonder if it will happen for just a small while this year before it goes red again with the new garden installation. I guess I’ll find out in August or September.

  10. thyme2garden Says:

    I love that your harvest post includes a food picture! I’m also intrigued by your lavender sugar. I will have to investigate!

  11. Sharon Says:

    That bread looks amazing! I would love to get the recipe if you get the time.

Comments are closed.


