Stealth zucchnini

Them zucchini are sneaky buggers. I’ve been watching the two smaller zucchinis since they were mere flowers, awaiting harvest.  When I reached into the jungle this morning to pick them, I found the sneaky big boy in the back.

Commence the parade of summer squash!

8 Responses to “Stealth zucchnini”

  1. GrafixMuse Says:

    LOL! I don’t know how they are able to hide in plain sight, but somehow they do. Boy they look good. I am growing zucchini in a pot this year and I don’t think it is happy. I am a ways away from fruit.

    • Ali Says:

      It looks like I’ll have some to share, we could arrange a trade, melons for zucchini :-)

  2. Jackie Says:

    You are so right about sneaky zucchini! That happens to me sometimes, too.

  3. Daphne Says:

    Well a sneaky girl really. :> I got back from camping and had two big zukes. I would usually pick them smaller, but I don’t mind. If there are seeds, I’ll cut them out and eat the rest.

    • Ali Says:

      Even the big Costatas are tasty…. and it’s a good thing as they hide very easily!

  4. Sara Says:

    Too funny! I just had that happen with cucumbers–I’ve been watching this baby that never got any bigger, perhaps because there were THREE big ones hiding on the trellis.

    That’s a nice zuke variety, I’m not having much luck with my green ones this year, what kind is it?

    • Ali Says:

      This is my absolute favorite zucchini, Costata Romanesca from Fedco. It is prolific and delicious. It puts out a lot of male blossoms, too, nice for stuffing. MMMM.

  5. Robin Says:

    WooHoo bring it on! I love it when the zucchini start growing. They always get me by surprise too.

Comments are closed.


