Garlic

We pulled the garlic this morning.  Showers were predicted for the afternoon, so today was the day.

On the whole, it is AMAZING!  The Chesnok Red did not do so well, but the Music looks good and the German Extra Hardy is huge and gorgeous. We harvested 54 cloves, which should last me until it is no longer fit to use.  I will save the best bulbs to plant in the fall.

I planted it October 12 using cloves purchased at the Farmer’s Market.   It is currently on a table in the barn with the fan on it, as it is very muggy here today, and the expected showers have arrived.  I hope to hang it in the barn attic to cure, and will have a fan set on a timer to make sure to have good air circulation.

Thanks Dan for the excellent photography.

13 Responses to “Garlic”

  1. julie Says:

    Ali and Dan, your gardens are truly amazing. I am so thankful for the bit of rain we have received today. I hope the rain found it’s way to your neck of the woods!

    • Ali Says:

      Yes, we got some badly needed rain, fortunately. Maybe more tomorrow. Hope the rain brings some cooler weather with it!

  2. Hadas Says:

    Amazing, time flies, and it is almost the season I came last year. when are u going North? have fun. and pls. let me know how is everyone.

    • Ali Says:

      We miss you here still! Your time with us went too quickly. We are camping at Moosehead next week, and in August at Cobscook. Wish you could join us!

  3. lisa Says:

    jealous. I planted mine in mid October and the leaves are dying so I thought it was time to pull. I pulled one and its small…

    • Ali Says:

      That’s too bad. I added a lot of slow release organic fertilizer when I prepared the beds, and both top-dressed this spring, and gave them 2 foliar feedings with fish emulsion, so that may have had something to do with it. Most of my smallest heads were from the edges where my hens snacked on the plants through the fence.

  4. O. Says:

    Pretty, pretty, pretty!

  5. Daphne Says:

    It does seem like garlic time. I was going to do mine on Sunday until I read the weather forecast. We had pouring rain today and we are scheduled for more. I’m doing a happy dance with the rain since we really need it.

    • Ali Says:

      Yes, we got some badly needed rain, too. I’m definitely with you on the happy dance!

  6. melanie Says:

    I was wondering why you don’t pull the scapes before they fully flower? I have heard this would increase the size of the final bulb, plus give you another crop from the garden by using the scapes…

    • Ali Says:

      I’ve heard that too. In this case, I just didn’t get ’round to it. So much to do, so little time. I’ve also read that it may not matter, and so I didn’t worry too much. And finally, I’d read about using the top sets as a nice mild garlic, and I tried it today and they were delicious.

  7. Robin Says:

    Yummy! I am going to pull my garlic tomorrow and can hardly wait.

  8. beth Says:

    LOVE this!!
    I have been day (and night) dreaming of your dilly beans. Is that a recipe you care to share?

Comments are closed.


