Harvest Monday: Squashed

This week marked the beginning of cucurbit season with the year’s first hidden zucchini, some patty pan, and flying saucers squash, and the first cucumbers gracing the harvest basket.  The cukes and squash were joined by a big harvest of sugar snap peas, more broccoli, more cauliflower, lettuce, blueberries, and the big news of the week, 54 heads of garlic.  Not including the curing garlic, Henbogle garden produced over 20 lbs. of produce this week.  It was so freakin’ hot, I couldn’t bear the thought of blanching and freezing kale, so I didn’t pick any of the huge collection of kale I have available.  Gotta do that this week.

We enjoyed lots of delicious salad, blanched snap peas, broccoli and cauliflower with yogurt dip, squash sauteed in butter with plenty of black pepper, and blueberries straight up in addition to many other delicious meals this week.

The tally:

2 oz herbs
31 oz lettuce
12 oz broccoli
102 oz snap peas
16 oz. cauliflower
24 oz zucchini
27 oz. summer squash
10 oz. blueberries
23 oz. cucumbers

That brings the vegetable garden well into the black this week.  The value of crops produced to date:  $383.13, expenses to date :$305.54, net value: $76.40. This does NOT include the garlic which will be weighed in about 2 weeks after curing in the barn attic.  Let’s just say we won’t be having a vampire problem at Henbogle!

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.  Click over to Daphne’s Dandelions to see if other gardeners from across the globe are enjoying the fruits of their labor.

17 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Squashed”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    Lovely garlic harvest! The big basket of sugar snap peas is quite impressive too.

  2. vrtlaricaana Says:

    After this first zucchini, there will be plenty more. Once they start to produce only winter can stop them.

  3. Sara Says:

    Looks great, nice looking garlic! And a lovely batch of peas, mine aren’t doing as well this year.

    My zukes are still fairly small, and I’m mostly getting the yellow ones so far, but I’m already finding myself working them into almost every meal.

  4. Allison Says:

    yum – look at all that garlic!

  5. Fred Says:

    Wow look at all that garlic! I’m really excited to plant some this fall for next year, as I didn’t get my garden until late april so I couldn’t plant them this season.

    Hopefully my zucchini’s will be ready soon, I can’t wait to be inundated with them!

  6. GrafixMuse Says:

    Wonderful harvest! I love the pic of the garlic curing in the barn.

  7. villager Says:

    We’re squashed over here too! Not a bad position to be in though. It’s good to hear you got that vampire problem taken care of. As much garlic as I eat they would swoon if they bit me! ;-)

    I’m not growing any pattypans this year. I grew the Papaya instead, which to me tastes about like the yellow pattypan.

  8. Daphne Says:

    I said the same think when I put the garlic in my bike shed. I’ve chased away all the vampires. I’m really happy about the start of the cucurbits. Cucumbers are one of my faves, and I’m putting up with the zucchini.

  9. michelle Says:

    Oh wow, all those snap peas! I’m so envious. What a great harvest you had this week.

  10. meemsnyc Says:

    Oh my, that is quite the harvest. Congrats on the many heads of lettuce.

  11. Lori Kauffman Says:

    Congrats on the big harvest, AND going into the black for the season! Nice job. –Let’s just say we won’t be having a vampire problem at Henbogle!– I cracked up! Hubby made a garlic butter french bread this weekend, and that’s what we were saying! Garlic, it’s wonderful stuff.
    ~~Lori

  12. nruit Says:

    Very impressive!

  13. thyme2garden Says:

    The patty pan squash are so charming. I’m only growing one kind of zucchini this year, but I do want to branch out and try different varieties (of everything, not just squash) as I get more gardening experience under my belt. Your garlic harvest and arrangement is just an inspiration!

  14. weekendfarner Says:

    Lovely garlic! Dont throw away the leaves. They make amazing pesto!!

  15. Angela Moll Says:

    Lovely harvest! Who needs to blanch kale when you’ve got such beautiful peas and squashes. And you’ve got one head of garlic per week a little to spare. That’s about what I harvested too.

    It is amazing how fast the garden accounting moves into the black. Good for you!

  16. Anonymous Says:

    so u need no crazy black friday (or was it saturday) to make it to the black side… if u have a good recipe for something with garlic let me know, we are a family of garlic lovers (garlic bread is all i can think of….)

  17. Maggie Says:

    Wow! That is quite a haul! What a great feeling to have a productive garden.

Comments are closed.


