Moosehead camping

Last week we abandoned left the hens and the garden in the care of our friend Joe and headed north to Moosehead Lake for a week of camping, hiking and rustication at Lily Bay State Park.  At 117 square miles in area, Moosehead Lake is huge, more of an inland sea, with 400 miles of shoreline and 80+ islands, and is the headwaters for the Kennebec River, which flows past our little mid-coast town on its way to the sea.  The whole area is dotted with lakes and many, many fabulous hikes of varying degrees of difficulty.  (A terrific guidebook, North Woods Walks, was written by Chris Keene a local guide.)

Our campsite was right on the lake, and we fell asleep each night to the loons calling and the trees rustling in the breeze.  We had pretty decent weather, a couple of rainy days, and some truly gorgeous calm days for great paddling on the lake.  We paddled and hiked and cooked s’mores and generally had a wonderful time.  Photos below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Responses to “Moosehead camping”

  1. Nina Says:

    Looks like a winning vacation! Great photos.

  2. The Mom Says:

    I love that campground! We used to go there often as a kid. We always had to time it just right, or it was too cold to do anything. It’s been 20 years since I last went, but it holds such wonderful memories.

  3. jeannie Says:

    I envey you two right now. I haven’t gone camping all summer. The pictures are great and the lake, everything is awesome. Also let me know about camp grounds that take 20′ trailers. I’ll be coming up with my camper for the weekend of the wedding.

  4. Kim Says:

    We stay at Lily Bay Campground every summer. My Dad lives 3 miles north of there. LOVE it! Really liked your pictures. We went to Moxies Falls this past Friday. We also went to Houston Brook Falls which was a lot of fun. I will be posting pics on my blog sometime. Glad you had such a nice time! We are going up next month and plan to visit Canada Falls. Have you ever been there?

    • Ali Says:

      I’d love to hear more about Houston Brook and Canada Falls, we haven’t seen either. Check out the book North Woods Walks, you can get it in Greenville at the outfitters store. It has a lot of the local hikes and the directions are excellent. I’ll be looking for your photos.

  5. Hadas Says:

    Oh My God. it is the best ever. can’t imagine a more perfect place to be in. great photos that make one want to jump right in. luv.

Comments are closed.


