Pepper troubles

Annie recently reported some trouble with her peppers, and much to my dismay, yesterday I found some similarly affected peppers in my patch on both the Carmen (shown) and Tequila Sunrise peppers. It does not seem to be bothering the Hungarian Black chile peppers, seen on the right.  Those plants are loaded with peppers.  I sense some stuffed  grilled peppers in my future, mmmm.

While picking the affected peppers, the worst affected pepper fell apart and landed on my foot, clad in (thankfully) washable sandals.  Eeew!  It really slimed me, yuk!

I picked all the affected peppers, and now need to do some research to see what this is, and if I should pull the plants.  Is anyone familiar with this affliction?

4 Responses to “Pepper troubles”

  1. Annie's Granny Says:

    I think yours look even nastier than mine! My peppers were badly discolored, but not really that soft. Maybe because mine are very thick walled peppers. I have only found it on one variety, and the young ones on the same plants don’t seem to be affected. I just hope there is enough summer left for them to mature.

    • Ali Says:

      Granny, I think the peppers looked so bad because my garden-sitter didn’t notice the rot and pick them.

  2. meemsnyc Says:

    Oh no, sorry to hear about the peppers. Not sure what that could be. Hopefully the other pepper plants won’t get it.

  3. Jackie Says:

    Could it be blight? I know that peppers are in the same Family as tomatoes… Gosh, I hope not for your sake.

Comments are closed.


