Harvest Monday: Mid-summer bounty

The squash are rolling in, cukes are appearing, pumpkins are taking over the garden, and tomatoes are almost ripe.  Mid summer garden deliciousness is here!

I was away for the last harvest Monday, but my garden-sitter Joe catered to my obsession and kept records for me, so today I will include the harvest for the past 2 weeks.  Thanks, Joe!

Parsley  2 oz.
Kale  72 oz
Lettuce  38 oz
Broccoli  15 oz.
Zucchini  91 oz.
Flying Saucers Squash  54 oz.
Patty Pan Squash  104 oz.
Yellow Crookneck Squash  8 oz.
Blueberries  128 oz.
Cukes  30 oz.
Hungarian Black Pepper  11 oz.
Tequila Sunrise Pepper  24 oz.
Carmen Pepper  10 oz.
Beets 6 oz.

During the past 2 weeks, I’ve been checking out the garlic prices and have seen that most markets are pricing the garlic per head at $.75 each, so I’ve added that to my harvest total.  That with the totals from the past two weeks brings the value of my harvests throughout the season to $560.43.  Expenses remained the same at $305.54, bringing the net value to $254.89 for the season.  And that with no tomatoes yet!

I’m posting this harvest as part of Daphne’s Dandelions Harvest Monday series, which showcases gardeners across the globe being over-run by their squash patches.  Check it out and report your harvest!

13 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Mid-summer bounty”

  1. Robin Says:

    Your harvest looks good. It’s interesting to see how much money you have saved. I started a spread sheet to track my garden but, haven’t kept it up. I really need to get it up to date.

    • Ali Says:

      Robin, I’ve been surprised at what I’ve learned from keeping track, I highly recommend it.

  2. GrafixMuse Says:

    That is quite a haul! It is interesting to compare the harvest to current pricing. I find that I consume more from my garden than I would ever purchase just because of it’s availability. I eat so much more healthier in the summer. More added value than the numbers suggest.

    • Ali Says:

      That is an excellent point. Certainly one of the reasons I garden is that I by growing so much, I can afford to spend more of my grocery dollars on things like locally raised meat and other specialty items that I might have a hard time justifying otherwise.

  3. Daphne Says:

    Oh and I’m still in the negatives this year. I think I have a couple of weeks before I get out of the red. Hopefully you will get your tomatoes soon then your tally will really start to go up.

    • Ali Says:

      With all the veggies you managed to get planted at the new garden, I’m sure it will be no time before you are back in the black, Daphne.

  4. a tasteful garden Says:

    wow! your entire harvest looks incredible! i especially am envious of your Patty Pans. how pretty are they?

    • Ali Says:

      Thanks! The patty pans are not only pretty, but oh so tasty…. I think this is the least year I will grow yellow crookneck, and stick with patty pans.

  5. thyme2garden Says:

    Does your garden-sitter have any reliable relatives in the Indianapolis area? I was just mentioning to my boyfriend the other day that we can’t go on vacations anymore because we can’t leave our garden behind. :)

    Is the Flying Saucers squash a larger version of the Patty Pan squash? I love the look of all these “exotic” looking ones compared to my boring zucchini.

    I’m so jealous that you have a positive value from your garden. With our garden being in its first year, I think it’s going to take us several years before we get out of the red. Unless we discover some vegetable that costs $100/lb… Then we just need to grow several pounds of that. :)

    • Ali Says:

      Thyme, I’ll ask my Kokomo contact if she knows of anyone. Unfortunately, my garden-sitter is moving to New Orleans boo hoo.
      The Flying Saucers squash is a patty pan type, and is delicious. Stick with the garden and in a few years you too will be in the black.

  6. michelle Says:

    That’s a great looking harvest! And so many other things listed also. Gotta love summer in the garden . . .

  7. jeannie Says:

    That is awesome Ali! You and Dan Have worked hard to get it but the labor of love in a garden is sweet!

  8. Angela Moll Says:

    Nice harvest! I do not weigh nor price my harvests, but you are starting to plant a seed in me. Still, I appreciate all of you who do it because the savings are so obvious, and it is a surprise to me. I was not expecting it.

    In my case I should also count the water. I can only stop irrigating for three, at most four, months a year, so I imagine water might be a big part of my cost.

Comments are closed.


