The queen of the garden

Today, I picked the first tomatoes from the garden.  Unfortunately, I could not find the tag, but I think it is a Cosmonaut Volkov.  The 4 maids are Sungolds.

Oh, and we harvested 11 lbs. of beets and my entire crop of carrots, 2 lbs. 2 oz., although with reports of Late Blight about in Maine, I’m more concerned with my tomatoes than the other crops.  The vines are loaded with green tomatoes, I’d be heartbroken if the blight strikes again this year.  I pickled both the beets and the carrots, for enjoyment through the dark days.

15 Responses to “The queen of the garden”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    Nice harvest! Hope you don’t get any blight on any of your plants.

  2. Nina Says:

    Just beautiful!

  3. Annie's Granny Says:

    What a beautiful queen! I hope the late blight misses all of you east coasters. What a heartbreak if it happens again this year.

  4. GrafixMuse Says:

    Wow! That is one giant tomato! Quite deserving of her crown. Having lost all my tomatoes to late blight last year as well, I too am on pins and needles as the reports of the disease come in. We all thought last year was a fluke, but the loss was felt nonetheless. Just knowing that there is a danger of it happening once again is quite alarming.

  5. Diana Says:

    I am in awe of all your harvests – so much awe that it even overpowers my towering jealousy! -laugh-

    I do not have to worry about tomato blight because the deer have eaten all my tomatoes nearly to the ground. I suppose I should consider that my silver lining. :)

  6. Angela Moll Says:

    Is there any preventive measures that can be taken ahead of the blight or is it just an unavoidable catastrophe? I hope, hope, hope you all don’t get it this year.

    Your crowned tomato is so funny, thanks for the chuckle.

  7. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    I canned beets yesterday, but still have a few more harvests of them. Love your purple dragons. I should probably put in more carrots right away, as my germination rate with them has been low this year with all the heat, not to mention my recent absence from the garden. It’s always something with gardening!

  8. Emily Says:

    Beautiful harvest. I too am worried about blight and went out today to remove leaf spot from my tomatoes. My potatoes have been getting brown and having never grown them before I didn’t pay too much attention. But doing some detective work it seems it may be early blight so I’m cutting off all the foliage and bagging it in hopes of protecting my tomatoes from its spread.

  9. chook Says:

    does the blight continue to come back year after year? how sad!

  10. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    Love the queen tomato. I have to think of something equal as glitzy for the tomato picture last year. We started harvesting a few weeks back but I’ve yet to time a picture right. They get eaten.

  11. Daphne Says:

    I’m worried about late blight too. I hope it stays away from your tomatoes.

  12. 10yearchallenge Says:

    I picked my first Sungolds today!

  13. Lori Says:

    Nice pics. I have carrot envy!! Have I told you how much I like the picture of the feet on top of your page? Classic.
    ~~Lori

    • Ali Says:

      Don’t be too envious, I had less than 50% germination of the carrots, sigh. Thanks, I love that photo myself :-)

Comments are closed.


