Harvest Monday: and there were tomatoes

Tomatoes in July may be a first for Henbogle, and we enjoyed not one, but 2 full size tomatoes last week, and some Sungold and Matt’s Wild cherry tomatoes as well.  We chose to enjoy them as the T component of BLT sandwiches using bacon from Ruit Farm, and was it ever delicious!  The cherry tomatoes graced a tomato cucumber feta salad, and a few were enjoyed straight up, yum.

We also enjoyed our first harvest of blackberries, destined for blackberry lime marmalade;  our first harvest of snap beans, devoured for lunch yesterday, our first golden beet, harvested by accident and eaten raw, and a very weird cucumber.  Old favorites continuing to show up in the harvest basket include broccoli, zucchini, patty pan squash, peppers, Flying Saucers squash, chard and some edible flowers.  The good news:

Ounces                Crop

72.00                Kale
38.00                Chard
0.00                Lettuce
13.00                Broccoli
6.00                Zucchini
65.00                Patty Pan
27.00                Flying Saucer
17.00                Yellow Crookneck
14.00                Cukes
11.00                Peppers
28.00                Blueberries
185.00                Beets
34.00                Carrots
49.00                Blackberries
17.00                Onions
7.00                Snap Beans
19.00                Tomatoes
36.81                Lbs. Total

After checking out several local farmer’s markets, I adjusted the price of my blueberries to $4.50 a pint ($6/lb), slightly lower than the going rate of $5.00 a pint.  Today’s harvest tally brings the value of my harvests throughout the season to $646.99  Expenses remained the same at $305.54, bringing the net value to $390.95 for the season.  I think this answers my question that my obsession is at least paying for itself!  Check out which other gardeners are eating home grown tomatoes at Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.

14 Responses to “Harvest Monday: and there were tomatoes”

  1. Emily Says:

    Beautiful harvests! Those blackberries look yummy. I’m trying out a blueberry lime jam recipe this week for the first time. I wonder if your blackberry recipe is similar. I’m still waiting for the first large tomatoes. It will be another couple of weeks I think.

    • Ali Says:

      Emily, I am curious about your jam, please report on it on your blog! We are freezing the blackberries for later jamming as I am over my head in old house repairs just now, sigh. I don’t actually have a recipe for the blackberry lime marmalade, I thought I’d just sort of combine a batch of each and see what it tasted like. I have an amazing recipe for blackberry lime ice cream that made me think of this idea.

  2. chook Says:

    i’m really enjoying your cost benefit analysis posts. and your harvest looks delish! i just take it for granted that i’ll get more out of the garden than what i’ve invested.

    • Ali Says:

      This exercise will help me feel better about the spending I do in the dark days of January and February, when the seed and Fedco supply orders are due. And it helps me feel better about my 10 month contract — I’m earning my keep in the summer!

  3. Robin Says:

    Nice, nice, nice variety! What are those dark jalapeno looking peppers?

  4. Daphne Says:

    Yes it is paying for itself and giving a lot back too. You are just starting the best harvest month of the year.

  5. GrafixMuse Says:

    Tomatoes in July is a rare event here in Maine. So glad to have tomatoes in general after last year’s loss to late blight. This is going to be a great month of harvest for our gardens.

  6. mangochild Says:

    What a beautiful platter/picture. I just made several quart-size cans of tomato sauce – it seems so early for them, but then again, that’s likely because last year was so difficult. Tomatoes are well worth all the effort that you are putting in. Congratulations on so much financial and mental/emotional benefits from your garden! I can’t wait to see what the Henbogle gets next!

  7. thyme2garden Says:

    Your tomato cucumber salad is so beautifully presented. Are those edible flowers in there? I also like reading about your garden value calculation. Is your spreadsheet (with individual cost of items) posted somewhere on your blog? I’m trying to figure out how to do that on mine soon, even though I’m still very much in the red considering that this is my first year gardening with a lot of startup costs.

  8. kitsapFG Says:

    Tomatoes in July is a real treasure and accomplishment! Nothing like them to make the garden feel truly complete. Well done on your garden economics to date. As Daphne pointed out, you are heading into the two biggest harvest months of the year (August and September) and so your net profits should do nothing but vastly improve for the remainder of the year.

  9. meemsnyc Says:

    That is so great that your harvests are paying off for you! Amazing! Your blackberries look great. I hope my blackberry plant produces fruit next year.

  10. gardengoodies Says:

    Not only does your obsession pay for itself in food dollars, but you get the health benefits that come along with participating in an activity that lowers your stress level. Gardening is definitely my therapist…at almost $0 per hour.

  11. debiclegg Says:

    Your harvest looks delicious. Next year I need to do a better job of tracking my cost. I do have a tally of harvest but haven’t tried to see how that related to market value.

Comments are closed.


