Snap– peas and beans are sprouting

Last Wednesday, during our energy audit, I sowed a second planting of Sugar Ann snap peas, and the next morning, Dan helped me sow two more squares of snap beans.  This morning, I went to check on them and give them some water, and we already have sprouting!  YES!  I love snap peas and you can be sure I won’t be bothering with shelling peas again.  They are delicious, but with snap peas, I get more pea and less work, and I can live with that.  I especially like the Sugar Ann snaps, they are very tender and sweet.

We sowed a mix of green, yellow and purple snap peas, which should make for some pretty dilly beans later in the season.  I put them in the space left when I pulled our garlic.  Most have a harvest date of 52+ days, so we should get some before a frost.  I hope.

3 Responses to “Snap– peas and beans are sprouting”

  1. Sara Says:

    I planted beans (and a few peas) where my garlic came out too. Great minds… :)

  2. mangochild Says:

    Hooray! I too love sugar-snap and snow-peas, so much easier and I feel as if I’m getting “more” per pod (given the shelling of regular peas). Yours came up so quickly :-)

Comments are closed.


