Harvest Monday: cucumber explosion

It was a big harvest week at Henbogle.  We picked over 42 lbs. of produce from the garden during the past week, with, blueberries, blackberries, snap beans, squash (of course), and finally cucumbers leading the way in poundage.

The tomatoes continue to trickle in, Tigerella, Sungold, and Matt’s Wild Cherry this week.  There are some Heinz 2653 on the verge, I will pick them tomorrow and take them with us on our camping trip.

The cucumbers exploded this week, we picked over 6 lbs. of them.  I hope this is the first wave of many as I plan to make some pickles.  We used quite a few cukes but as we’ve been super busy with our siding project this week, I gave a lot away.

Snap beans quickly became Dilly Beans today.  Dan picked the beans nd helped prep them, and we made 15 pints.  Yum.  I was hoping, but alas, the purple snap beans do change to green during the canning process.  I was hoping, but thought it was a long shot.  Still, they are pretty in the bowl awaiting processing.

I did not yet add the flowers, as I need to do some research.  They are one of the items I would probably never buy at the market, but I really enjoy having them to share or grace my own table.

How does all this goodness add up?  To an amazing 253.63 lbs. of delicious fresh vegetables.  The week’s harvest tally brings the value of my harvests throughout the season to $833.62  Expenses remained the same at $305.54, bringing the net value to $528.08 for the season.

For more harvest updates, visit Daphne’s Dandelions and check out harvest reports from gardeners across the globe.

12 Responses to “Harvest Monday: cucumber explosion”

  1. Robin Says:

    Boy, you had a very busy week! The purple beans are my favorite! It would be nice if they stayed purple after they were cooked.

    Have a nice relaxing camping trip.

  2. vrtlaricaana Says:

    Too bad that those purple beans changed color…
    Our cucumbers are slowly producing this year, just enough for salads.

  3. The Mom Says:

    I’m so jealous of all that squash! The dilly beans look delicious too.

  4. GrafixMuse Says:

    Great harvest! I agree it would be nice if the purple beans stayed purple, but they do look lovely mixed in the bowl. I really need to plant more summer squash next year. Yours looks so good.

    Have a wonderful time camping!

  5. Emily Says:

    Dilly Beans look great. I’m hoping to make some soon when my pole beans produce. My cucumbers too are running over. I need to make some more pickles but have to decide what kind. I was given a pickling book and there are so many good choices.

  6. Sara Says:

    I’ve decided the purple beans are only handy for picking, ha!

    If you’re having a similar season as us (seems like it) be prepared for a continued HUGE crop of cucumbers. I’ve never made so many pickles as this year! :)

  7. thyme2garden Says:

    What kind of squash are those green striped and scalloped ones in the middle? They look really cool!

  8. mangochild Says:

    Wow! Just the size of the harvest has me beaming for you… and very impressed. I like the dilly beans. But surprise on the purple ones turning green. Though thinking about it, when I snap the purple ones open, they are green inside. Wonder if that has anything to do with it, and how the color system for the beans works.

  9. Daphne Says:

    I’ve been busy canning too. It is nice to have a good harvest to do it with this year. Last year I had such trouble just getting my cucumbers to grow. I barely got any for pickles. A few jars but not much more. Congrats on going over $500. I’m well on my way now too.

  10. Jackie Says:

    Nice flowers! I never add them into my “garden value” spreadsheet either. I wish I could get 6 lbs of cucumbers. I’ll be lucky if I even get 6 cucumbers…just too cold here.

  11. meemsnyc Says:

    Ooooh, look at all those dilly beans! That is an awesome harvest! 42 pounds, wow!

  12. Wendy Says:

    the canned beans look scrumptious!

Comments are closed.


