Roasting

Man it is HOT in Maine right now, high 90s and humid, ugh.  The tomatoes are loving it though, so I’m happy.  I had lots of tomatoes ready for processing, and judging by the flock of fruitflies, it was time, hot or not.

To save lots of scrubbing, I line my jelly roll pans with aluminum foil for each batch.  I feel bad not re-using the foil as I usually do, but then reflect upon my fuel efficient car and my lack of offspring and think, it’s ok, I have a few carbon credits to burn.

I oil the pans with high heat oil, and slice the tomatoes up.  I don’t generally bother with coring them, as I have a tomato strainer which takes care of that step.  His name is Dan.

The pans go into the oven, usually at 400°F or so, and I roast them until slightly charred and most of the liquid has evaporated.  I let them cool, then Dan helps by putting them through my tomato strainer, which we found at a tag sale years ago.

The strained tomatoes then go into the crockpot for further reducing, or the fridge, to await more sauce to join it in the crockpot.  Once cooked to my desired consistency, I will either can or freeze, depending on freezer space and how many vegetables I had around looking for a place to go.

I love this sauce on pizza.  YUMM!!!!

7 Responses to “Roasting”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    Oh my, this sauce looks yummy!

  2. jeannie Says:

    Looks good! Here’s a neat trick with sugar pumpkins. Instead of cutting into chuncks, cut into 4 quaters (deseed) then microwave them like a potatoe. then you can just peel the skin off ( yes I forgot leave skin on)
    It really does work well!

  3. Leigh Says:

    Ali, I will have to try this. I had been cooking my tomatoes till soft and then straining and cooking down in the crock pot. Recently I got a recipe for tomato soup which just pops the tomatoes into the blender, whirs them up and then strains them. It’s certainly faster. Somehow the roasting though, speaks of lovely subtle flavors!

  4. GrafixMuse Says:

    I agree that roasting adds a wonderful flavor to the sauce. I cooked some out on the grill because it has been so HOT lately. I love my new tomato strainer. It is a huge time saver. K helps with the cranking too which is a huge help.

  5. anniemade Says:

    So, when you can it, do you put in extra lemon juice? And, is it just straight up tomatoes on those sheets? Or, do you also include garlic and onion and delicious herbs?

    • Ali Says:

      Anniemade,
      I follow the directions in the Ball Blue Book for tomato sauce, adding lemon juice, don’t usually add garlic or onion preferring to add it later depending on what I am making.

      In the above photos, I roasted an onion and a pepper with the tomatoes, but reserved them for pizza sauce using what didn’t fit in the canner.

      I always add the lemon juice as I am very respectful of the botulism risk, having see botulism poisoning up close years ago.

  6. 10yearchallenge Says:

    Do you have a recipe for the balsamic red pepper spread? I’ve been looking for something just like that.

Comments are closed.


