Roasted Red Pepper Spread

From the Balll Complete Book of Home Preserving

6 lbs ripe red sweet peppers
1 lb plum tomatoes
2 large cloves garlic
1 small white onion
1/2 c red wine vinegar*
2 T minced fresh basil
1 T granulated sugar
1 t salt

Roast peppers, tomatoes onion and garlic until skins are blackened and blistered.  Cool, reserving juices, and when cool enough to handle, peel and remove seeds from the peppers and tomatoes.  Finely dice onion and measure 1/4 cup, discard any remaining.  Puree peppers, tomatoes, onion and garlic.  In a large saucepan (I used my crock pot) combine puree and red wine vinegar, salt, sugar, and basil.  Cook until mixture is reduced to the point of mounding on a spoon.  Ladle hot into prepared jars leaving 1/2 inch headspace and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.  Makes 6-7 half pints.

*The Ball recipe calls for red wine vinegar.  I was planning on using Balsamic vinegar, but had a brain cramp and used red wine vinegar instead, sigh.  It still tastes good…. I think the Balsamic would have lent a nice flavor, and would have made the color a bit less orangey.

As it was already 80° F when I started roasting the peppers Friday morning, I elected to roast everything outside on the grill, which worked great.  Peeling is a huge PITA; next time, I might try running the peppers and tomatoes through the tomato press to see if that will work.

This is delicious on pizza, as a spread for bruschetta, or thinned with cream, tossed with pasta and parmesan.  I bet there are a million other ways to use it, too.

5 Responses to “Roasted Red Pepper Spread”

  1. Bee Says:

    They look gorgeous!

  2. vrtlaricaana Says:

    When I want to peel roasted peppers, I close them in a plastic bag and leave them there until they are cool enough. This helps later with peeling. Tomato press will definitely help too.
    Looks delicious!

  3. Emily Says:

    That sounds wonderful. I don’t have nearly enough peppers to make that but maybe another year.

  4. 10yearchallenge Says:

    Thanks! I have the Ball book and I’m surprised I didn’t find the recipe myself. I just checked the index and see that they didn’t include this under Peppers. So, bad indexing on their part. I’m putting this on my list for next weekend!

  5. Daphne Says:

    That looks really delicious. Now I really wish I could grow lots of those big red peppers.

Comments are closed.


