Hoppy

Several years ago, we planted some hops (I believe Cascade) by the old playground swing in the backyard.  We, being easily amused, trained the hops to climb the swing frame and called it the Hop-Swing. Someday, we thought, we might harvest them and try using them in brewing our own beer.

This year was a good year for the hops.  Apparently they like a nice rainy spring, then lots of dry weather.  Monday evening, when we had the family over for dinner, we decided to harvest them, as rain was predicted (and is falling as I write).  We picked quite a few — I didn’t weigh them, and am not sure exactly how large the tubs are (but I can tell you they readily hold an extra-large load of laundry), but the tub is about 2/3 full.

Dan has the hops spread out on screens in the barn attic to dry.  The hop flower must lose most of its moisture content to be used and to store.  As we are now having rain and cooler weather, we will set up a fan to blow air over the hops to facilitate the drying process, similar to what we did for the garlic.  Later this fall, once the parade of tomatoes ends, we will try a batch of beer.  Stay tuned!

Dan's sister Louise with the harvest

7 Responses to “Hoppy”

  1. Jackie Says:

    How interesting! I’ll look forward to hearing about you beer experiment. Good luck!

  2. upinak Says:

    Gotta let them dry.. but you may have the start of a good home brew!

    Good Luck, I will be checking in on your progress. :)

  3. Angela Moll Says:

    Home brewed beer, yum! Do keep us posted on your home brewing adventure.

  4. julie Says:

    So that’s what hops look like. Will be watching for a future beer making post!

  5. 10yearchallenge Says:

    My husband wants a hops vine but I’ve planted too many grapes and don’t have any room left on the pergola. I love the swing idea! Maybe I could find a junky old metal one someone wants to give away.

  6. Annie's Granny Says:

    Ali, send me your mailing address, and I’ll get that numeric keypad to Dan in Monday’s mail. I have no need for it, so no cost other than postage reimbursement. anniebloom1 at gmail dot com

  7. Robin Says:

    Lee and I were just looking at our hops today thinking that it was about time to harvest them.

Comments are closed.


