Squash & Pumpkins

A critter, most likely a squirrel, has been nibbling at my pumpkins, so before work this morning I harvested all the ripe pumpkins and squash.  I put it in the hoophouse to cure for a few days, then will try storing it in the coolest room in the house.

The dark gray/green squash are Futsu Black, a Japanese winter squash.  The chewed upon pumpkin is a Winter Luxury, and the other pumpkins are New England Pie.  The tan squash are Waltham Butternut.  I have four more New England Pie pumpkins than pictured, and 3-4 green/orange ones still on the vine, trying to ripen.

I’ll weigh them all in a few days when they’ve had a chance to cure.

8 Responses to “Squash & Pumpkins”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    Sorry to hear about the pumpkin that was eaten by a critter. I feel your pain. http://nycgardening.blogspot.com/2010/09/carnage-continues.html

  2. Thomas Says:

    I love the look of the Futsu Black. During this summer, I’ve trapped and relocated tons of squirrels and chipmunks. They are not as big of an issue now. It seems like you still were able to get a sizable harvest though!

    • Ali Says:

      We relocated a lot of squirrels one summer. It seemed like by the time we got home from moving them, new ones had staked out the vacant territory, so we finally gave up!

  3. Daphne Says:

    I’m glad you didn’t lose more. I picked my only squash the other day. All the others were eaten by varmints.

    • Ali Says:

      Ugh, that’s the pits. I hope you’ll have better luck next year with more fencing and only one location to guard.

  4. tempusflits Says:

    Oh, those look good! I’ve read there is a bush acorn squash, which I want to try growing in a container next year. I made squash soup the other day from a butternut. Fabulous stuff, that.

Comments are closed.


