The fall garden

The vegetable garden continues to putter along.  Our other projects and day jobs are keeping us from giving it much attention, and it shows.  It needs a good weeding, the tomatoes should be topped, and the dead cukes and pumpkin plants need to go away.  The summer was very dry, but in the last 2 weeks we’ve had quite a bit of rain, and are getting more tonight.  I had given up on the summer squash, but with the rain we’ve had a flush of new blossoms and some new fruit forming.  The yellow crookneck are OP, and quite prolific, but the taste just does not compare to the patty pans, especially the Flying Saucers.

The kale is coming along, I’ve got lettuce and green sprouting in the hoophouse, and two more tomato plants in their which have some ripening fruit, too.  The beans and peas are growing albeit slowly.  At least the peas, planted in late July, have some fruit setting.  Warmer weather is predicted for the weekend, I’m hoping we get it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Responses to “The fall garden”

  1. Diana Says:

    Your garden is so lush! I had to rip out my squash plants because they all went kaput long ago. Bacterial wilt or squash beetles, or both. What do you mainly use as a soil amendment?

    • Ali Says:

      Diana, I mostly use compost — with my hens I get great compost — and an all-purpose organic fertilizer like Fertrell or Espoma. I think the squash fared well in this dry year because I used plastic IRT mulch. It is a pain, it is evil plastic, but based on how the garden performed, it is a good example of best/highest use of a material.

      Oh, and I start my seedlings off with Neptune’s Harvest Fish and Seaweed liquid fertilizer. Good Stuff!

  2. meemsnyc Says:

    The fall garden looks great. I pulled out all the squash and tomato plants and it felt great.

    • Ali Says:

      I bet it did! I hate looking at the ratty plants, but am still enjoying the fruits, so in they stay for now…

  3. julie Says:

    How decadent to have a LAUNDRY ROOM! I am so jealous, my laundry is located down in the dark dank cellar. How prolific your gardens have been. Okay, once again I am jealous! How are the girls doing? any signs of molting?

Comments are closed.


